Jaguar Love / Take Me To The Sea
Album: Take Me To The Sea   Collection:General
Artist:Jaguar Love   Added:Aug 2008
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-02-01 Pull Date: 2009-04-05
Week Ending: Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 15 Mar 1 Feb 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 25, 2013: The Tetris Effect (Beta)
The Man With The Plastic Suns
4. Mar 15, 2010: Palo Alto Pop Overthrow
Highways Of Gold
2. Apr 19, 2011: meow
Highways Of Gold
5. May 26, 2009: Indie Flavored Kool-Aid
Antoine And Birdskull
3. Mar 19, 2010: What Am I Going To Do With You?
Highways Of Gold
6. Apr 03, 2009: before bball

Album Review
Walter E. Gogh
Reviewed 2009-01-26
Alternating between falsetto singing and outright screaming, Jaguar Love make abrasive and challenging rock music. But once you get past the blasting vocals you’ll find tight melodies strung together with buzzing guitars, whirling keys and pulsating drums. Harmonizing, balladry and even fun with auto-tune are unexpected touches for a band with such an aggressive approach.
Fun facts: Johny Whitney and Cody Voltato were part of the Blood Brother and J Clark was with Pretty Girls Make Graves - both bands are now defunct.
FCC violations: 2, 6, 9
1. (3:38) Blasting intro and screeching hooks.
2. (3:34) FCC Audible swear words. Otherwise a fun song about eviction.
3. (4:31) Falsetto harmonizing over smashing drums and ripping guitar licks.
4. (5:56) An ode to Georgia that would have Ray Charles scratching his head but might get airplay at an Elephant 6 gathering.
5. (3:51) Fuzzy guitar and organ-effect keys. Frenetic pace.
6. (3:50) FCC Audible swear words. Drum machines rev up and down BPMs in this dirge-like dark number.
7. (3:43) Bluesy guitar licks with layers of psychadelic keys.
8. (3:38) Slow building emotional ballad with vocal counterpoints.
9. (4:31) FCC Audible swear words. Cautionary tale of a vegas musician with a gambling problem.
10. (5:09) Sounds like they are auto-tuning up the vocals to make them even more chipmunk like. A fun song about ready to burst at the seams.

Track Listing
1. Highways Of Gold   6. Humans Evolve Into Skyscrapers
2. Bats Over The Pacific Ocean   7. Antoine And Birdskull
3. Jaguar Pirates   8. Bone Trees And A Broken Heart
4. Georgia   9. The Man With The Plastic Suns
5. Vagabond Ballroom   10. My Organ Sounds Like...