Twilight Hotel / Highway Prayer
Album: Highway Prayer   Collection:General
Artist:Twilight Hotel   Added:Jul 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-12-07 Pull Date: 2009-02-08
Week Ending: Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 18 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 07, 2009: Music Casserole
Iowalta Morningside
4. Jan 02, 2009: Time Traveler
Viva La Vinyl
2. Jan 28, 2009: Hand Wash in Coleslaw
No Place For A Woman
5. Dec 26, 2008: Time Traveler
Viva La Vinyl
3. Jan 17, 2009: Lost and Found
Slumber Queen
6. Dec 24, 2008: Smartie Pop
Slumber Queen

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2009-01-27
Bluesy country Americana. Twilight Hotel is a couple out of Winnipeg, Canada, and this is their first album. The two share the vocal duties and invite session musicians to round out the sound. This is all pleasant enough stuff; the middle of the album is interesting and well executed. The album draws on enough outside influences to make it hard to pin down exactly the genre of this. It is a really nice blend of styles and interesting enough variations of the traditional to pique the interests of listeners. No FCC violations.

1. Starts with male vocals, rockabilly sway, does not ever explode, ends with chatter (3:48)
2. Grooving blues, woman sings about ‘keepin’ them union boys off my back’, musicianship is strong (4:35)
3. Folky intro, develops into a percussion-less alt-country ballad, kind of sappy, strong vocal harmonizing (4:48)
4. Organ and acoustic guitar create ominous mood, female vocals, title track, no percussion (4:25)
*5. Electric guitar sounds almost like a spy song, percussion is loungey, piano and organ add to the mix, memorable refrain, “those that live by the sea start to rust/those on the highway fill up with dust.” (4:27)
*6. Catchy hook with low electric guitars, female vocals, sample in the middle of the song?, dark and menacing feel, great outro (5:45)
7. Prominent accordion, no percussion present, folky/country feel (5:15)
8. Again, slow accordion song with clattery drums and female vocals, interesting gypsy-ish feel (4:16)
9. Probably the most memorable male vocal part of the album, song does not build well, bluesy guitar complements the song well (5:07)
10. Opens with studio chatter, piano, guitars open the song, great melody, ‘Dobro’ instrument during chorus?...has such a catchy hook, and the rest of the song does not do it justice (5:17)
11. Clattery percussion, piano, and guitars frame the straight-forward tune (4:10)
12. Slow, melancholic, intentional ballad, a measure of pathos to close out the album (5:52)
*13. Sort of hidden track, instrumental jam of session musicians, Richard Bell and Colin Linden; this was Bell’s last recording he ever played on, and was a prolific session musician in his career (4:57)

Track Listing
1. Viva La Vinyl   7. The Ballad Of Salvador And Isabelle
2. No Place For A Woman   8. Shadow Of A Man
3. Impatient Love   9. The Critic
4. Highway Prayer   10. If It Won't Kill You
5. Slumber Queen   11. Sometimes I Get A Little Lonely
6. Iowalta Morningside   12. Sand In Your Eyes
  13. Flame