Illusion Of Safety / In Session
Album: In Session   Collection:General
Artist:Illusion Of Safety   Added:Jul 2008
Label:Finite Material Context  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-07-27 Pull Date: 2008-09-28 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Sep 28 Sep 21 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 10 Aug 3
Airplays: 1 2 3 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 23, 2008: Emphysema For Emphasis
Revealing The Process
4. Aug 29, 2008: 666 Feet Live Underground
Waiting Room
2. Sep 18, 2008: Dronegasm
Waiting Room
5. Aug 29, 2008: Oatmeal
3. Sep 17, 2008: Brownian Motion
Waiting Room
6. Aug 27, 2008: Russian Roulette Set

Album Reviews
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2008-08-29
Actually, I.O.S. is from the Chicago area. Also, Jim O' Rourke was in an early version of the band. See:
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-07-22
Excellent noise, experimental washes of sound. East Bay artist, been around for a long time. Tracks start off quiet, fade in, sometimes to intense crescendos, sometimes to simple lush ambience. A live feel about all tracks, but well produced (mastered by Thomas Dimuzio). Great stuff!!

1) very quiet start builds slowly, creepy, whirring, clicking, loopy
2) very quiet start again, fades in, becomes a good drone that grows very intense by midway, ends cold but intentionally
3) chill, spooky, mostly quiet all the way if droney
4) sparse to start, slow to build but becomes quite a nice experimental drone
5) minimal crunchy sounds
6) electro synth loop to start has a rhythmic “song-like” quality, almost accessible (!) for first couple minutes, then it quiets down and turns to a more ethereal collage, bookended by the synth, watch long quiet 1+ minute fade-out at end

Track Listing
1. Revealing The Process   4. Tolerance
2. Protoplasm   5. Projection Needs A Hook
3. Waiting Room   6. Fragile