Mon Cousin Belge / Quelle Horreur
Album: Quelle Horreur   Collection:General
Artist:Mon Cousin Belge   Added:Jul 2008
Label:World Famous In San Francisco  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-10-05 Pull Date: 2008-12-07
Week Ending: Nov 30 Nov 16 Oct 19 Oct 12
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 26, 2008: Sonic Bubble Sub
Washed Up
3. Oct 18, 2008: public noize racket
Washed Up
2. Nov 14, 2008: Time Traveler
The Crossing
4. Oct 10, 2008: Time Traveler
The Crossing

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-10-26
Rock opera - big hooks, occasionally ridiculous lyrical matter, over-the-top arrangements, musical gestures that are passe in mainstream (i.e., non-
theatrical) settings; magnificent, total guilty pleasure. Recommended
All of the tracks are high quality but 3, 4, and 7 won’t pass FCC muster

1. Organ and vocal belt out unironic(?) hymn
2. Driving instrumental overture
3. Bombastic political statement with several trenchant observations and, unfortunately,
a couple of "shit"s and "fuck"s
4. Rocking blast with overblown vocals and tasteful electric piano, one quick "shit"
5. Louder and funnier rock blast
6. Amusing ode to/takedown of unicycles
7. The ambivalent love song that the male lead always sings about the female lead just
before they finally split up; shameless power pop, "fuck"
8. The "now that you have gone" lament with cool beginnings and increasingly intense
9. More intense instrumental (and wordless howling) continuation of preceding
10. From a simple waltz to an increasingly busy, pounding finale

Track Listing
1. The Crossing   6. Unicycle
2. Washed Up   7. Bundle Of Contradictions
3. The Ugly American   8. Sodomy
4. Tweaker Bitch   9. Lola
5. Pig Dog   10. Girl Stuck In A Parade