Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Jasmina Maschina / Demolition Series, The
Album:Demolition Series, The Collection:General
Artist:Jasmina Maschina Added:Jun 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date:2008-12-07 Pull Date:2009-02-08 
Week Ending:Feb 8Feb 1Jan 18Jan 4Dec 28Dec 21Dec 14

 Recent Airplay
1.Aug 31, 2013:Music Casserole
Learning To Fly
4.Jan 28, 2009:Hand Wash in Coleslaw
2.Mar 17, 2009:The Dark Knight Returns
5.Jan 17, 2009:Music Casserole
3.Feb 03, 2009:The Space Jam Revival Hour
Sweet City Sue
6.Jan 08, 2009:Power Hour

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2009-01-27 
Subdued folk with experimentation in electronics. Jasmina Maschina is one half of the post-rock duo, Minit, and it is no surprise that this album is so richly atmospheric, beyond a normal folk album. The album features guest musicians who add guitar, melodica, piano, drums, and additional vocals to the mix. This is a strong album, very mellow, warm and has enough unique touches to make it different. FCC violation on track 5.

1. Simple folk with textures of strings and other subtleties (3:41)
2. Some sort of woodwind instrument and an organ open the track, light backing vocals, warm, slightly repetitive outro (4:08)
*3. Subtle textures and drenched guitars slowly build to smoothly gorgeous choruses, probably the most accessible song on the album(4:07)
4. A dark melody precedes layered guitars, and an unidentifiable instrument’s solo(2:10)
5. FCC violation, vocals and guitars are poppy, builds to an atmospheric bridge and perhaps a horn(?) adds another texture/layer(4:55)
6. Intro sounds almost Eastern, melodica present?, (3:41)
*7. Slow piano, acoustic guitar with some delay effects, changes directions mid-song and shifts to a an uptempo jammy-type outro(5:57)
8. Production sounds very Iron & Wine, percussion is subtle and a bit experimental, really pretty incorporation of disparate elements (4:33)
9. Like track 8, folk core is surrounded by countless inputs of texture subtlety, samples, guitars, effects; lots of feedback end the track(8:09)

Track Listing
1.Sweet City Sue 5.Sister
2.Holy Holy Holy Word 6.Sit With Me
3.Over 7.Slow Walker
4.Learning To Fly 8.Under Sea
 9.Asleep (Minit Variation)