Ribot, Marc's Ceramic Dog / Party Intellectuals
Album: Party Intellectuals   Collection:General
Artist:Ribot, Marc's Ceramic Dog   Added:Jun 2008
Label:Pi Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-07-13 Pull Date: 2008-09-14
Week Ending: Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20
Airplays: 3 1 1 2 5 2 4 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 08, 2011: Music Casserole
Digital Hanshake
4. Sep 12, 2008: Memory Select
Todo El Mundo Es Kitsch
2. Jun 27, 2009: Deep Fried & Sanctified
Todo El Mundo Es Kitsch
5. Sep 11, 2008: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon (Global Unity Day)
3. Nov 11, 2008: Deep Fried & Sanctified
Todo El Mundo Es Kitsch
6. Sep 09, 2008: Global Warming at the Cafe Bohemian
Never Better

Album Review
Andrea L
Reviewed 2008-07-14
Marc Ribot’s Ceramic Dog/Party Intellectuals/PI Recordings/2008
I know you want me to say that this is a garange/punk/noise/brazilian/lounge work mashed in Ribot style, but the best way to describe this album is by saying that this guy in LA who is a grey-haired, pork pie hat-wearing, ex-model, who drives a surf green ’57 Chevy with door locks that are skulls with red crystal eyes, details cars for a living, and writes poetry. That guy, he would love this album. While I didn’t love that guy, I do love this album. All tracks are great in their own way and I could hear this on many different KZSU shows. FCCs: 4/fucking, 9/fuck.
1) 3:44 Uptempo Doors cover in garage noise format begins with counting it out.
2) 5:50 Uptemp funked out almost video game title track punk party song.
3) 5:11 Midtempo Lounge track, yes, lounge. Tom Tom Club updated es kitsch.
4) 8:18 Slow, poetry and atmosphere. FCC Fucking
5) 10:15 Uptempo moog, moog, instrumental rocker...get ready..she’s going to blow! Acceleration fascination.
6) 4:15 Slow and eerie with an odd banjo. Instrumental.
7) 3:20 Uptempo samba with great poetry lyrics, day in the life of a single dad.
8) 4:43 Uptempo moogarific funky a la prosthetic Cubans…
9) 3:35 Midtempo song about a not so great girl. Funny FCC Fuck
10) 10:04 Starts slow and percussive, letting it all out…then rocks beyond anticipation. Instrumental.
11) 5:49 Slow ghostly with voices coming in and out. Psychadelic.
12) 3:29 Uptempo race through, well, the kitchen sink…enjoy

Track Listing
1. Break On Through   7. For Malena
2. Party Intellectuals   8. Pinch
3. Todo El Mundo Es Kitsch   9. Girlfriend
4. When We Were Young And We Were Freaks   10. Midost
5. Digital Hanshake   11. Shsh Shsh
6. Bateau   12. Never Better