Cosmologic / Eyes In The Back Of My Head
Album: Eyes In The Back Of My Head   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Cosmologic   Added:Jun 2008
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-07-06 Pull Date: 2008-09-07 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Sep 7 Aug 10 Jul 20 Jul 13
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 05, 2008: Memory Select
The Rumpus
4. Jul 11, 2008: Memory Select
The Rumpus
2. Aug 08, 2008: The Tainted A-Word
The Apex Is The Whole
5. Jul 10, 2008: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
on't remember ... didn't like it!
3. Jul 18, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum
The Rumpus

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-06-29
Modern free-jazz. Quartet fronted by sax and trombone, populated by San Diego regulars. Energetic and adventurous, with some richly jazzy playing from guys who've known each other long enough to form a cohesive unit -- they're able to make tightly knit work out of loosely assembled group soloing. Straight-jazz fans can get a lot out of 1,6,8. The band takes some wilder chances on 4,5.

1- Crazed marching-band intro, midtempo, then a tough-digging rock-like bassline. Spacey trombone solo.
2- Mid/fast, kind of a stomping marching feel. Crazy sax solo.
3- Slow and grand.
4- Slow intro, into brisk disjoint improv. Nutso cartoony trombone sounds later.
5- A growing outburst of sax/trombone goodness. Then a rumbling quiet segment (with timpani!) & faster, grooving ending.
6- Fast fast bop/swing. You wouldn't know it's for Darfur.
7- Slowish and thoughtful.
8- Brightly midtempo, with a playfully trouble-brewing sound. Cool sax solo over a spare background. Later, a calm composed theme emerges over snare drum.

Track Listing
1. The Rumpus   5. Code View
2. Eyes In The Back Of My Head   6. Theme For Darfur
3. Dreams Of An Alternate Future/Remembering The Past   7. The Apex Is The Whole
4. Face In The Crowd   8. We Kiss In A Shadow On The Other Side Of This