Mcdonas, Thollem & Arrington De Dionyso / Intuition, Science, And Sex
Album: Intuition, Science, And Sex   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Mcdonas, Thollem & Arrington De Dionyso   Added:Jun 2008
Label:Edgetone Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-30 Pull Date: 2009-02-01 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 11 Dec 28 Dec 14 Dec 7
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 30, 2009: Memory Select
In The
4. Jan 08, 2009: Baptism of Solitude
An Eye
2. Jan 21, 2009: Hand Wash in Coleslaw
A Birth
5. Dec 25, 2008: Music Casserole
In The
3. Jan 16, 2009: Memory Select
Blink Of
6. Dec 24, 2008: Brownian Motion
A Birth

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-11-30
THOLLEM MCDONAS & ARRINGTON DE DIONYSO - "Intuition, Science, and Sex" CD (Edgetone)
Free improv trio of MCDONAS on piano, DIONYSO (OLD TIME RELIJUN) on bass clarinet and drone machines. The music is often patient, slow, and drone-like. MCDONAS'S piano seems classical. There isn't much jazz on this recording it's mostly an avant-garde improv and exploration. MCDONAS is from San Francisco.
**1. Slow, patient and droning. Neither player takes a back seat. The track is called "A Birth" and it does sound that way. Track mostly stays meditative and only after 18 minutes does the piano get busy while the clarinet remains meditative. The last 3 minutes are a bit noisier and at the 20 minute mark it's just clarinet and drone. Ends with just drone.
2. Starts with very quiet piano. The piano takes it's time (3 minutes) building and then the clarinet slowly joins in. There is soulfulness to the sound. Jazz I guess. Nice.
3. Like track 2 but the clarinet starts off. A bit more playful. Some silence. The track does pick up the pace and get a little louder after a couple minutes. After 4 minutes the clarinet gets loud and almost rawkus. Halfway through the track gets noisy but they slow down. This track seems a bit stiff or that they don't have much to say.
**4. Much shorter with clarinet opening. Then more of the same but louder and busier and free. Ends with a drone.
OK stuff -mph

Track Listing
1. A Birth   3. Blink Of
2. In The   4. An Eye