Spiritualized / Songs In A & E
Album: Songs In A & E   Collection:General
Artist:Spiritualized   Added:May 2008
Label:Sanctuary Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-07-27 Pull Date: 2008-09-28
Week Ending: Sep 28 Sep 21 Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 3 3 1 5

Recent Airplay
1. May 01, 2019: The Fuzz Deli
Soul On Fire
4. May 12, 2009: Indie Flavored Kool-Aid
Soul On Fire
2. Apr 12, 2013: Time Traveler
Soul On Fire
5. Sep 27, 2008: Lost and Found
You Lie You Cheat
3. Oct 04, 2012: The Sunset Life
Sweet Talk
6. Sep 26, 2008: A2Z
You Lie You Cheat

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-07-16
Psychedelic dream pop. Simple acoustic guitar based songs, centered around Jason Pierce's hoarse vocals and accompanied by an assortment of other instruments including accordion, organ and fiddle, as well as a choir. Very folky feeling throughout. Most songs' lyrics are quite morose, dealing mostly with love, death and drugs. Rather than being bleak though, this makes for a very enjoyable listening experience. I was kind of reminded of Low and Current 93, as well as the Velvet Underground (obviously) and possibly Syd Barrett. By the way, A&E stands for "Accidents and Emergencies Ward", which is where Pierce spent a good part of 2005 recovering from a rare case of double pneumonia. Kind of explains the feel of this album. Recommended!

Picks: 9,4,2,3,5

1. short instrumental, mellotron
2. waltzy, dream feel here
3. breathing samples throughout sad song about death
4. rocking, upbeat. like "give me shelter" by the stones
5. another upbeat song, ethereal fiddle sound, sweet
6. short instrumental, piano
7. sad, minor keys, beautiful vocals
8. another upbeat stonesy rocker with background electronic freakout
9. the album's wildest song. starts quietly, then enter feedback heavy guitar and distorted vocals with choir and crazy organ background. excellent
10. short choral piece
11. longest song. starts silly and playful. fiddle-centered psychedelic jam towards the end
12. sweet love ballad with male-female vocal duet
13. quiet instrumental, piano and fiddle
14. again folky, ethereal and waltzy
15. instrumental, accordion based
16. cynical. seemingly happy song with very dark lyrics about a guy shooting his whole family. cool!
17. another short instrumental
18. seet lullaby outro song

Track Listing
1. Harmony 1 (Mellotron)   10. Harmony 3 (Voice)
2. Sweet Talk   11. Baby I'm Just A Fool
3. Death Take Your Fiddle   12. Don't Hold Me Close
4. I Gotta Fire   13. Harmony 4 (The Old Man...)
5. Soul On Fire   14. The Waves Crash In
6. Harmony 2 (Piano)   15. Harmony 5 (Accordion)
7. Sitting On Fire   16. Borrowed Your Gun
8. Yeah Yeah   17. Harmony 6 (Glockenspiel)
9. You Lie You Cheat   18. Goodnight Goodnight