Miles From India / Miles From India
Album: Miles From India   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Miles From India   Added:May 2008
Label:Times Square Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-06-22 Pull Date: 2008-08-24 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 5 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 26, 2008: Memory Select
Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
4. Aug 13, 2008: "In Your Ear ..." with David Bug, starting something perhaps and one for isaac
In A Silent Way
2. Aug 23, 2008: "In Your Ear ..." with David Bug, one more time on-air this week ... more jazz
Ife (Fast)
5. Aug 08, 2008: Oatmeal
Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
3. Aug 22, 2008: "In Your Ear ..." with David Bug, good morning john, cecil, miles, and others
Great Expectations
6. Jul 31, 2008: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Miles From India

Album Review
Don Farrell
Reviewed 2008-06-23
Former members of Miles Davis bands meet musicians from India. Recorded using the Internet from various studios on two continents. "Bitches Brew" goes to India. ALL STAR LINEUP
1: 19:45 Instrument & male vocal/wail/drone into @ 5;00 percussion kicks in for a mid to fast trumpet/vocalwail/percussion groove, about half way in vocal wail drops out, flute thing, tabla, e guitar at end
2: 9:21 slow sitar,@ 1:30 Brass All Blues kicks in with sitar. nice piano-bass groove, alto sax
****3: 8:41 Indian violin intro, almost bass/violin call & response, constant bass rhythm, flute thing, cool fast e guitar @ 5:00 minimal Indian scat style vocal at end.
4:  2:33 sitar & drone intro to "In A Silent Way"
****5: 10:01 fast up & running percussion/violin/keyboard/guitar/bass/sax groove, The Hammond B3/bass/e guitar/locked drum set jam is great
****6: 11:37 flute drone thing intro, then bass/drum/e guitar kicks in, cool flute riff, great e guitar, minimal Indian scat style vocal, flute drone thing coda. D  Farrell   06/2008
***1: 8:09 'dat dat dim dat' scat intro, piano, bass "So What" Indian percussion (ghatam clay pot)
2: 9:03 trumpet and fast constant Indian percussion, locked bass Adam Holzman keyboards, great great guitar groove, battle of the instruments of mass percussion
3: 13:08 slow instrument noodling intro. male vocal/wail @ 6 min sparse e
guitar plucking by Mike Stern,
****4: 8:40 pounding bass, trumpet, fast sitar & bass clarinet all to a locked
pounding rhythm section, lull@ 4:00, kicks back in with fast e guitar
***5: 14:12 wailing tenor sax Indian percussion, very cool guitar/percussion
jam wailing soprano sax, big bass & deep Indian percussion
6: 6:54 male vocal wail, piano, very nice e guitar noodling (John
McLaughlin) D  Farrell   06/2008

Track Listing
1. Spanish Key   7. So What
2. All Blues   8. Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
3. Ife (Fast)   9. Blue In Green
4. In A Silent Way   10. Great Expectations
5. It's About That Time   11. Ife (Slow)
6. Jean Pierre   12. Miles From India