Isaacs, Gregory / Winner, The
Album: Winner, The   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Isaacs, Gregory   Added:May 2008
Label:Trojan Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-05-26 Pull Date: 2008-07-28 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 15, 2012: brownian entropy
Don't Let Me Suffer
4. Dec 17, 2011: New World Disorder
2. Mar 31, 2012: New World Disorder
Dance With Me
5. Jul 16, 2011: New World Disorder
3. Mar 17, 2012: New World Disorder
Dance With Me
6. Feb 19, 2011: New World Disorder
Dance With Me

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-05-27
Gregory Isaacs – The Winner
Reviewed by Sadie O., 5/22/08
Extensive compilation of very early songs by Reggae’s greatest singer. (Note the absence of a qualifier such as “arguably” in that sentence.) Songs cover the period from very late ska through rock steady and lover’s rock to roots rock reggae. Music gets much better and Isaacs’ vocals smoother over the course of the comp. Warning: many of the vocal tracks can dissolve undergarments at a range of 50 yards or more!
No FCCs detected. The concept of “not very good Gregory Isaacs song” is an oxymoron; all tracks are good or great.
1. 2:46 **uptempo ska with what sounds like a ukulele, slow sweet singing.
2. 3:35 ***classic rock steady riddim; vocal group. Tasty stuff.
3. 2:03 **quite uptempo rock steady, vocal group. Buttoo?
4. 2:47 **downtempo shuffle with farfisa.
5. 2:29 **quite downtempo lover’s rock, unity lyrics. Gregory’s voice is particularly sweet.
6. 2:23 **uptempo rock steady with rather stoned sounding backing vocals, rather harsh not-in-love song.
7. 2:23 **midtempo, rather faint rock steady riddim. Upful song.
8. 2:34 ***midtempo lover’s rock skank, knicker-melting vocals.
9. 2:50 ***midtempo lover’s rock, lower but still seductive vocals.
10. 2:52 **rather inept midtempo riddim, but more fine vocals – this more a love song to Jah.
11. 2:23 **midtempo lover’s rock with farfisa, really telling some chick off.
12. 2:58 ***very faint bassline intro, then midtempo bubble with some odd keyboard sounds, another broken hearted love song.
13. 3:19 **downtempo syncopated skank, classic lover’s rock, guaranteed seduction aid.
14. 2:53 ***downtempo lover’s rock with googly guitar – I wonder how many girls got pregnant behind the speakers at the sound system dance to this one…
15. 2:49 **midtempo bubble, stealing someone’s girlfriend vocals.
16. 3:00 **very downtempo bubble, sounds like it was recorded in a bathroom (it’s entirely possible), social trouble lyrics.
17. 3:04 ***quirky downtempo lover’s rock skank with strong bass, diatribe lyrics.
18. 3:00 ***midtempo bubble, sweet vocals about helping each other.
19. 2:57 ***bouncy midtempo skank, Rasta lyrics.
20. 2:50 ***midtempo skank, nice vocal harmonies, Mama Africa lyrics.
21. 3:34 **alternate take of a big early Isaacs hit – the riddim is great but it’s a bit too much in the front of the mix and his vocals a bit back. Too bad – it’s a classic.
22. 4:04 ***very downtempo syncopated skank, nyahbinghi version of another major hit. This one leaves his vocals up front!
23. 3:52 ***midtempo skank, huge hit, bit of extra keyboards and syncopation added.
24. 6:00 ***downtempo skank with vibraslap, sad song of poverty. Includes the dub.

Track Listing
1. Another Heartbreak   13. Something Nice
2. Don't Let Me Suffer   14. Dance With Me
3. Buttoo   15. Don't Believe In Him
4. Too Late   16. Village Of The Underprivileged
5. Grow Closer Together   17. Sinner Man
6. Set Back   18. Give A Hand
7. While There Is Life   19. Help Us Get Over
8. Be Careful   20. Beautiful Africa
9. Another Heartache   21. Smile
10. Happiness Come   22. Storm
11. No Forgiveness   23. The Winner
12. Lonely Days   24. Motherless Child