Morgan Heritage / Mission In Progress
Album: Mission In Progress   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Morgan Heritage   Added:May 2008
Label:Vp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-05-11 Pull Date: 2008-07-13 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1 May 25 May 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 14, 2014: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
4. Jul 05, 2008: New World Disorder
Cross W Borda
2. May 09, 2011: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
5. Jun 24, 2008: New World Disorder
Brooklyn And Jamaica
3. Nov 18, 2010: Happy Hour
6. Jun 12, 2008: Happy Hour

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-05-12
Morgan Heritage – Mission in Progress
Reviewed by Sadie O., 5/8/08
Mostly Roots Reggae with a bit of Dancehall, mostly highly political content, from the sibling act that has become one of the most popular in Jamaica. Several distinct voices, including guest appearances by an American-inflected dancehall vocalist named Laza. Most of the lyrics are hard-hitting socio-political commentary with a strong Rastafarian component. The only two duff tracks are the modern R&B love songs (9 and 10), which leave me absolutely cold, but the rest are good to great.
Single FCC on track 3. Best tracks are 1 and 12; 6, 7 and 13 good too.
1. 3:55 ****uptempo energetic skank with layers of voices, harmonies, defiant Rastafarianism lyrics.
2. 3:44 **a few seconds of scratching, then upbeat cover of the Steel Pulse classic,with a new chorus and rap. Unfortunately, the original was pretty much perfect as it was, but this is still a cool dance number.
3. 4:13 FCC: “shit” **downtempo roots bubble, fine vocals and political lyrics.
4. 3:20 *downtempo skank that takes a while to come together, sad political rant. Odd abrupt ending.
5. 4:07 *spoken intro, slow dancehall with both singing and rapping.
6. 3:49 ***slow skank, great dramatic lyrics and delivery (we have this as a single on Direct from Yard 2007 comp) – this is a rather stripped down mix, but with lots of extra sounds that add a bit of an air of foreboding.
7. 5:37 ***slow roots bubble with lots of keyboard and electric guitar, several voices, strong message and soulful delivery.
8. 3:25 *downbeat bubble about troubles tourists don’t see in Jamaica.
9. 4:20 downtempo “modern R&B” love song. This is no doubt the cut that will wind up on BET, although they really need to hear the political numbers…
10. 4:33 long intro, slow skank, another love song – slightly less “R&B” than the previous track, terribly sincere bit of rap.
11. 4:09 **midtempo roots skank with a really great instrumental sound. Love song, but the fine riddim keeps it from being cloying.
12. 4:16 ****hard uptempo dancehall riddim with some rapping in English as well as patois.
13. 3:31 ***solid midtempo skank, political lyrics.
14. 4:08 **slow, rather orchestrated skank, sad political lyrics. Fine singing.

Track Listing
1. Cross W Borda   8. Nothing To Smile About
2. Raid Rootz Dance   9. Love You Right
3. Politician   10. Faithful (Feat. Laza)
4. Yute Dem Share   11. Be Sure
5. The Fight   12. 12 Shotz (Feat. Laza)
6. Brooklyn And Jamaica   13. Headline Fi Front Page
7. Mission In Progress   14. Youths Today