Wood Brothers, The / Loaded
Album: Loaded   Collection:General
Artist:Wood Brothers, The   Added:Mar 2008
Label:Blue Note  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-05-26 Pull Date: 2008-07-28
Week Ending: Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1
Airplays: 1 2 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 24, 2019: Brian Canada DEMO (Mellow Fellow)
Still Close
4. Apr 21, 2016: Feng Shui
Postcards From Hell
2. Jun 02, 2016: Feng Shui
Postcards From Hell
5. Apr 14, 2016: Feng Shui
Postcards From Hell
3. May 05, 2016: Feng Shui
Postcards From Hell
6. Jan 20, 2016: funk to fiddle
Postcards From Hell

Album Review
Andrea L
Reviewed 2008-05-26
Folk roots bluesy music Oliver Wood (King Johnson) and his brother Chris Wood (of Medeski Martin and Wood). Produced by John Medeski, the music has that many layered feel that Medeski productions are infused with. In addition to assistance from Medeski and Billy Martin, they also get help from Frazey Ford of The Be Good Tanyas and Amos Lee. Every track is great, this deserves a hearty listen. Reviewed by Andrea.
1) 3:20 Slow and pretty love song.
2) 4:43 Midtempo with a great melody, this is fantastic.
3) 3:30 Midtempo slightly funky swampy groove with a bit of a gospel message. Builds great organ.
4) 3:47 Slow steel guitar darker than most of the rest.
5) 4:31 Uptempo exceedingly pretty with some sweet ukulele.
6) 3:44 MIdtempo sparse and gorgeous with Frazey Ford assisting Chris with a rare turn for him on the vocals. Lush and beautiful.
7) 4:07 Midtempo bluesy funky love song.
8) 3:48 Slow beautiful lyrics with a sweet string section backing…lovely almost Randy Newmanesque.
9) 4:07 Midtempo Hendrix cover, fun version with a mellow reggae country vibe, I kid not.
10) 3:24 midtempo cover of the Dylan tune. Beautiful and sparse.
11) 3:42 Midtempo funky country take on this traditional tune. Amazing steel guitar and, well, yes, someone plays a chicken coop…yep. HELL YES
12) 3:42 Slow sad and beautiful song.

Track Listing
1. Lovin' Arms Postcards From Hell   7. Twisted
2. Postcards From Hell   8. Fall Too Fast
3. Pray Enough   9. Angel (Feat. Amos Lee)
4. Loaded   10. Buckets Of Rain
5. Walk Away   11. Make Me Down A Pallet On Your Floor
6. Don't Look Back (Feat. Frazey Ford)   12. Still Close