Brown, Rob Ensemble / Crown Trunk Root Funk
Album: Crown Trunk Root Funk   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Brown, Rob Ensemble   Added:Mar 2008
Label:Aum Fidelity  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-04-20 Pull Date: 2008-06-22 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 15 May 25 May 18 May 11 Apr 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 10, 2016: Rebop
Clearly Speaking
4. May 16, 2008: Memory Select
Rocking Horse
2. Jun 13, 2008: Memory Select
Ghost Dog
5. May 09, 2008: Memory Select
Clearly Speaking
3. May 23, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum
Clearly Speaking
6. May 09, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum
Ghost Dog

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-04-19
Modern jazz with sax and piano, a session with energy and sparkle. It might get categorized as "free jazz," and Brown does throw some skronk into his playing, but really it's a mildly outside session with plenty of drive. Brown is the focus, tossing out some nicely rolling, creative solos. Taborn's keys add a nice splash of cool on tracks like 6, but he also holds back for long stretches, leaving Brown to lead a pure trio (parts of 2,5). Really nice album. Instrumental; FCC clean.

1- Digs in for some gutsy sax soloing backed by piano. Starts quite a bit outside. Great, spiky piano solo.
2- Mid/fast, bright
3- A slow, quiet calm.
4- Just oozes cool: Sly bass riff, calmly strutting sax/piano. A tuneful knowing wink in your direction.
5- Starts freely but gets into a cool push-and-pull theme and a nice piano solo
6- Twisty; moderate tempo
7- Heavy Eastern-Euro theme.

Track Listing
1. Rocking Horse   4. Ghost Dog
2. Clearly Speaking   5. Exuberance
3. Sonic Ecosystem   6. Lifeboat
  7. Worlds Spinning