Strangers Die Every Day / Aperture For Departure
Album: Aperture For Departure   Collection:General
Artist:Strangers Die Every Day   Added:Mar 2008
Label:This Generation Tapes  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-06-22 Pull Date: 2008-08-24
Week Ending: Aug 17 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jun 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 29, 2009: orangeasm
Safer In The Ground
4. Jul 09, 2008: Brownian Motion
...And The Blood Shall Spill
2. Aug 10, 2008: Mmmmm...Tastes Like Candy
...And The Blood Shall Spill
5. Jun 27, 2008: Dreamtime, or Burrito
Charcoal #1
3. Jul 13, 2008: Mmm... Tastes Like Candy...
Safer In The Ground

Album Review
Katie P.
Reviewed 2008-06-18
Strangers Die Every Day "Aperture For Departure" – Soundscape post rock with some classical elements and a touch of indie rock. Wow!! Beautiful mixing of violin, cello, and possibly some other strings with electric bass and drums. Lush arrangements that are full of emotion. All instrumental songs. For fans of Godspeed! You Black Emperor, Hangedup, etc. Highly recommended!!
My Picks: 1, 6, 8
Katie P. 6/17/08

1) Slowly fades in with plodding ominous guitar. Violin and cello come in and then a slow midtempo drumbeat. Slowly builds and builds tension until a release halfway through. Nice play between the deliberate steady beat and the meandering strings. Don’t be fooled by the false ending with a minute left, it continues to the end.
2) Quiet string plucking and low bass beats. Opens up into a hopeful, expansive mood. Again, fun play between the percussive sounding metronome quality and broad string strokes. Kind of breaks down about half through and turns into more of a light indie rock sound with guitar and drums a bit out front.
3) Starts with lonely violin solo, the other strings slowly join filling out the sound. Slow and full of melancholy.
4) Cute quick plucks of violin soon joined by cello bowing. Slower midtempo waltz feel. Drums are added giving it a more rock feel.
5) Violin and cello blending together very nicely. Short piece, no drums or bass. Beautiful.
6) Slow plodding metronome beat. Slow and sad strings on top that builds fast once drums are added. Turns into a solid midtempo post rock song with soaring violin and cello on top.
7) Sharp violin and cello. Short piece.
8) Moody and quiet to start. Drums and bass create the backbone of the midtempo rock sound. Violin and cello enhance the moodiness and create tension. Builds to the middle and then gets a little spacey. Wow!
9) Playful violin and cello. Has an odd feeling of urgency and agitation. Short piece.
10) Starts with cello and violin adding layers, then drums come in with a solid midtempo beat. Builds and urgently presses ahead.
11) Steady driving faster midtempo beat. Slows about halfway through and becomes a bit of a slow quiet march.

Track Listing
1. ...And The Blood Shall Spill   6. Esther
2. Aperture For Departure   7. Charcoal #2
3. Slow Bike   8. Safer In The Ground
4. Romanticism   9. Charcoal #3
5. Charcoal #1   10. Bicycle
  11. The Dirge