Nomak / Calm
Album: Calm   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Nomak   Added:Mar 2008
Label:Huge Soul  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-02-14 Pull Date: 2010-04-18 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: Mar 21 Mar 7 Feb 28 Feb 21
Airplays: 1 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 25, 2012: MHz Broadcast 11.11.12
1st Commandment Is... Feat. Aaron Phiri
4. Mar 19, 2010: FLASHBANG RADIO
Ultimate Eternity
2. Mar 15, 2011: Lumpy Space Princess Part Deux
Force For Truth
5. Mar 04, 2010: Folktronic
3. Feb 22, 2011: The Crooked Spoke Adjacent
Ultimate Eternity
6. Feb 28, 2010: FLASHBANG RADIO!
Ultimate Eternity

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-02-10
Hip hop beats made from vocal samples, orchestral arrangements, and traditional Japanese instruments. Nomak is a Japanese DJ and producer who has blessed us with yet another release of chill and relaxing beats. Many of these songs are instrumentals but a few have guest lyricists…most raps tend to gravitate towards family problems, relationships, and promoting peace and well-being. All beats are very well produced, with lots of attention to detail. The fusion of traditional Japanese instrumentation and rapping presents a very interesting side of hip hop. Very different from anything else on the radio right now. Give it a try.

For Instrumentals Try: 10,6,7,1,14
For Rap Try: 12,8,5,9,13
FCC: 2,3

1. Instrumental. Tinkle piano beat with hand-drums, soft smooth distorted vocals in the background. Sweet.
2. Instrumental. Smooth clarinets intro into heavy cut-time drumming. More layers of instrumentation added as the song progresses.
3.FCC (shit) Soulful singing (sounds a bit too much like the intro to T-Pain’s “I’m Sprung” for my taste…) progresses to a guest rap by Prismo. Gentle flutes, piano, and bird chirps.
4. FCC (shit) Spoken intro about how “music unites us.” Looped piano and flutes. Deep resonating drums.
5. Looped piano sample. Rap by Pismo. Lines are not terribly creative, but whatevs.
6. Instrumental. Chopped, distorted vocals, like something you might find out of a Burial album. Deep, depressing drumming. Soft crackles of noise distortion. Transitions into heavily distorted loops.
7. Instrumental. Smooth harp plucking and nice legato cello. Weird spiraling synth samples.
8. Traditional Japanese instruments. Rap about family loyalty, feuds, respect, etc.
9. High intensity drumming, with cool snazzy synth lines and xylophones. Lyrics about guidance, protection, survival. A little repetitive, but still good.
10. High-pitched choral singing, firm, steady drumbeats. Japanese flutes, piano. Gorgeous, despite its 6-min time length.
11. Piano, flutes, drums…a few synth lines for a bit of changeup…but it’s a bit samey.
12. This song has a Soul/R&B feel to it. Lots of religious imagery, stories of poverty.
13. Female rap, about seeking to live a unique life. Pretty boisterous. The beat is really good too—lots of slick strings, and airy lilts…kind of dreamy, but held down by the rugged cut-time drumming. The last minute is instrumental.
14. Just like what the title of the songs suggests it will be. Very smooth and heavenly.

Track Listing
1. Anger Of The Earth   8. Hi Mom! - A Prayrer For World Peace - Feat. Abstract Rude
2. Spiritual Home   9. If I Was Peace Feat. Fat Jon
3. One Fist Feat. Pismo   10. Ultimate Eternity
4. Elemental Music Feat. Melodee   11. Blessing Dance
5. Geishas In The Days Feat. Pismo   12. 1st Commandment Is... Feat. Aaron Phiri
6. Force For Truth   13. Time Of Reflect Feat. Tor
7. Diaphanous Air   14. Sanctuary