Raised By Robots / Auctioneer, The
Album: Auctioneer, The   Collection:General
Artist:Raised By Robots   Added:Feb 2008
Label:Doomcandy Music Albums  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-03-30 Pull Date: 2008-06-01
Week Ending: May 18 May 11 May 4 Apr 13
Airplays: 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 10, 2010: the seductardation
Pixie Duss
4. May 04, 2008: Undrinkably Bad Oddities
A Corporeal Complex
2. May 13, 2008: At Your Local Dive
5. Apr 28, 2008: Now's the time
3. May 11, 2008: Undrinkably Bad Oddities
6. Apr 11, 2008: Music to Make Babies To

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-03-21
Poppy punk stuff from a local trio, jangly rocking stuff, kind of "alternative" radio-friendly. Decently literate lyrics that show more than a little hip-hop influence, both in the rhyming and the cadence. Good stuff; more serious than goofing-off.

Debut recording from a local band. "Raised By Robots will crush your city," it says on the CD package. Bummer. The band is the brainchild of Cameron Spies (guitar, vocs) and Mike Rieger (drums), a couple of SF landscape architects. Their bassist, Ohm Mega One, is a chemical engineer.

All songs fast or at least a little bit fast, unless noted. There are FCCs.

1- *FCC* Poppy sound; serious mood. Good song. Sudden ending.
2- Another serious one; a fast, pipping sound. Bursts open for an insanely fast lyrics break.
3- Hard-driven, fast
4- *FCC* Fast and choppy
5- Jangling gloom. Darkly intense later.
6- Snide-toned guitars; midtempo powerpop sound
7- *FCC* Slowish swaying feel, loud gutsy singing
8- Cool pattering feel with a chiming bell sound. Mid/fast; references Hungry Hungry Hippos
9- Nifty guitar jangle. Tough, scratchy sound.
10- *FCC* Heavy, hazy guitars. Spoken word start.
11- Fairly fast, morose sound.
12- *FCC* Quiet and acoustic, slowish

Track Listing
1. White Eyelids   7. 6ircles
2. A Corporeal Complex   8. Puzzles
3. Cynicism   9. Skeletons
4. The Graveyard Shift   10. Villains, Getting Away
5. The Ides   11. Pixie Duss
6. Sycophant   12. There Is Always Something Better