Various Artists / Roots People Music Vol. 4
Album: Roots People Music Vol. 4   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jan 2008
Label:Cousins Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-01-27 Pull Date: 2008-03-30 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 30 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10 Feb 3
Airplays: 3 1 2 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 03, 2014: Clean Copper Radio
Want More
4. Mar 28, 2008: New World Disorder
2. Apr 05, 2008: New World Disorder
Show Love Or Else, Play Hard Ball
5. Mar 25, 2008: The Twilight Zone
The Reverend
3. Mar 29, 2008: New World Disorder
The Reverend
6. Mar 15, 2008: New World Disorder
Love Rastafari

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-01-29
Roots People Music vol. 4
Reviewed by Sadie O., 1/17/08
Very fine roots rock Reggae comp of new tunes by a variety of singers. There are some big dancehall names, some folks who’ve been going since the Rock Steady days, and a few new folks I hadn’t heard of before – but all roots rock style. Tons of terrific material on here, helps to make up for the slim pickins lately. Naturally, this is a UK label…
No FCCs detected. Best stuff IMO – Disk 1, tracks 2, 9, 12 and esp. 16, disk 2, tracks 7, 16 and esp. 11.
Disk 1:
1. 4:22 **slightly downtempo roots skank, rather gruff dancehall vocals.
2. 3:32 ****forceful midtempo skank, Turbulence’s signature crazed yelling contrasting with pretty female backing vocals.
3. 3:44 ***slightly downtempo complex electronic skank, Michael Rose’s fine singing.
4. 3:56 *acoustic guitar and humming intro, very relaxed rootsy vibe.
5. 3:59 **same acoustic guitar riddim, Sizzla’s dancehall growl.
6. 4:00 **bit of spoken preaching, then upbeat midtempo electronic bubble, pleasant dancehall.
7. 3:54 ***very rootsy skank, Luciano’s lovely singing.
8. 3:40 ***forceful syncopated skank, duet between two great singers.
9. 3:58 ****strong downtempo skank, very attractive baritone vocals.
10. 3:40 **midtempo electronic slide whistle riddim, soulful female singing. Dubby bits at end.
11. 3:47 ***same slide whistle riddim, largely spoken vocals.
12. 4:02 ****forceful skank with dubby bits, great singer. Wild remake of a Wailers hit.
13. 3:19 **downtempo skank, multiple voices.
14. 3:12 ***rootsy skank, gorgeous singing.
15. 3:42 **downtempo dubby skank with lots of electronics, police harassment lyrics.
16. 3:28 *****downtempo horn line intro, cool dubby skank, more gorgeous singing, overtly anti-Christian lyrics.
17. 3:54 ***midtempo stepping razor riddim, good remake of the Burning Spear hit.
18. 3:35 **slightly downtempo skank, quavery singing, very roots.
19. 3:32 ***midtempo skank with lots of interesting sounds, singer with great range.
20. 3:50 **rootsy skank, strong dancehall vocals.

Disk 2:
1. 3:59 *acoustic guitar and preaching intro, then choir, slow nyahbinghi drums and electronic beat.
2. 4:03 **same riddim, more interesting vocals, sort of a combination of dancehall and singing.
3. 2:51 **downtempo skank with tingy piano, very pretty vocal harmonies.
4. 2:46 **same riddim, fine rootsy vocals (same cut is on Earl Sixteen’s own CD).
5. 2:54 *downtempo skank, a bit muffled sounding with dubby bits, pretty singing (rather obnoxious message!)
6. 2:58 ***downtempo skank, fine vocals, strong message.
7. 3:40 ****fun bloopy midtempo bubble. Gregory doesn’t have the voice he used to, but it’s an interesting sound.
8. 3:35 ***midtempo electronic skank, strong dancehall vocals.
9. 3:40 ***downtempo nyahbinghi groove with prominent vocals by Michael Rose.
10. 3:52 ***midtempo electronic bounce, “Get Up Stand Up” vibe, quite sweet vocals from Sizzla.
11. 3:48 *****midtempo skank, wild dancehall vocals. Turbulence KILLS!
12. 3:33 ***downtempo skank, sweet and rootsy, old school vocal trio style. Dubby bits.
13. 2:29 *downtempo skank, cover of a rather crap old US pop hit – but Horance Andy still has a fine voice.
14. 3:24 ***long electronic intro, then really fun downtempo electronic skank, dancehall vocals.
15. 2:58 **downtempo bubble, pretty love song to pot.
16. 3:32 ****midtempo electronic dubby bubble, cool peacenik song. Extra star for the cool dub bits.
17. 3:39 **midtempo (often used) riddim, hard time story lyrics.
18. 3:27 **midtempo electronic bubble, sweet-voiced cover of the Wailers classic.
19. 3:44 ***downtempo electronic skank, Horace Andy’s sweet quavery singing.
20. 3:23 ***downtempo nyahbinghi skank, gruff baritone vocals. Long fade.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Natural Black Love Rastafari
2. Turbulence Play Hard Ball
3. Michael Rose Reality
4. Erupt The World We're Living In
5. Sizzla Africa People
6. Lutan Fyah Hail Rastafari
7. Luciano Strive
8. Michael Rose & Maxi Priest Lion In The Jungle
9. Danny Red Be Greatful
10. Aretha Mariejah I Love The Blessing
11. Danny Red Something Wrong
12. Dennis Brown Want More
13. Tony Curtis Story Of My Life
14. Don Carlos Tribulation
15. Junior Reid John Law
16. Max Romeo The Reverend
17. Bunny Rugs Marcus Garvey
18. Rod Taylor Never Change My Ways
19. Richie Davis They Say
20. Anthony B Ten To One
21. Izes Hail The I
22. Capleton Let's Go (Africa)
23. Luciano Borrowed Time
24. Earl Sixteen Final Stage
25. Don Carlos Man & Woman
26. Lukie D Nah Give In
27. Gregory Isaacs Josephine
28. Anthony B Hafi Mek It
29. Michael Rose Pray
30. Sizzla Africa Yes
31. Turbulence Show Love Or Else
32. Rod Taylor Trust In The Lord
33. Horace Andy Ain't No Sunshine
34. Anthony B Babylon A Quail
35. Tony Curtis Weed Smokers
36. Robbie Valentine War
37. Glen Washington John Brown
38. Johnny Clarke Crazy Bald Head
39. Horace Andy Zion Gates
40. Prince Malachi Stages Of Life