Smith, Steven R. / Owl
Album: Owl   Collection:General
Artist:Smith, Steven R.   Added:Jan 2008
Label:Digitalis Industries  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-01-20 Pull Date: 2008-03-23 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 24 Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 27
Airplays: 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 17, 2010: lost and found
The Tree King
4. Feb 09, 2008: Bloodstains Across Atherton
2. Feb 23, 2010: The Gumdrop Poo Train
The Tree King
5. Jan 30, 2008: Brownian Motion
The Tree King
3. Feb 20, 2008: Brownian Motion
The Tree King
6. Jan 30, 2008: nag champa orangeasm
The Tree King

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-01-02
Trippy spacey guitar centered psyche, with gothy folk moments (a la Current 93) at times. Mostly a “guitar exploration”, with lots of echo and reverb and slow phrased anti-guitar playing but also some undeniably beautiful moments too. Vocals are on the line of indecipherable melodics, adding embellishments. For fans of Flying Saucer Attack, John Abercrombie, Low/Alan Sparhawk.

1) shimmery fuzzy noodly guitar with mildly melodic vocalizations
2) a droney vaguely eastern/Beatles tone
3) devolving chords and near mumbled vocalizations, like Cobain OD’ing on the couch with a guitar, picks up a melody in the end
4) near gothy folkie feel with guitars and soaring melodies
5) heres the undeniably beautiful moment, slow spacey drony and lovely
6) dissonant strumminess, vaguely melodic and songlike, with vocals
7) picking with little licks, midway turns more droney with vocalizations
8) strummy and slightly melodic, with vocs
9) pretty, droney and spacey instrumental

Track Listing
1. Across The Flats   5. The Tree King
2. The Pity Of All Things   6. Cleft
3. Bindery   7. O, Blessed Night Your Sunrise Has Burnt Down
4. Whistling   8. In Light
  9. Upon