Kitka / Rusalka Cycle: Songs Between The Worlds, The
Album: Rusalka Cycle: Songs Between The Worlds, The   Collection:World
Artist: Kitka   Added:Dec 2007
Label: Self-Release  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-01-06 Pull Date: 2008-03-10 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 2 Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 20 Jan 13
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 5

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 06, 2022: Music Casserole
4. Apr 14, 2018: Music Casserole
2. Mar 06, 2021: Rebroadcast: Music Casserole
5. Mar 26, 2017: Music Casserole
Last Night
3. Oct 20, 2018: Music Casserole
6. Aug 06, 2016: Music Casserole
Awakening, Wave

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-12-21
9-member Bay Area female vocal ensemble turn to Slavic folksongs based on Rusalka “restless spirts, thought to be women who had died unjust or untimely deaths.” As you’d expect it’s dark, disturbing, and haunting. Amazingly beautiful vocal harmonies combine with unpredictable rhythms and dissonant counterpoints to produce gorgeous sounds; lightly backed by cellos & perc. It’s almost scary at times (#7 is really unsettling), a successful evocation of ghosts. Play it all, this is seriously good.

1. Dark, dramatic, soaring and compelling. Powerful & moving.
2. Slow, fragile a capella solo slowly builds, stays beautifully delicate.
3. A powerful voice flies in, restless spirits chatter, gets scary.
4. Cello runs darkly behind a forest of voices. Spooky & dramatic.
5. Ethereal, layers of melancholy beauty. Slow & lovely.
6. A soaring, nasally chant w/otherworldy voices, like banshees.
7. A voice in torment crying. Insistent strings, drums. Terrifying.
8. Gentle, mournful lamentation w/grace and tragedy.
9. Cello/voice – slow, gentle, slow & elegantly tragic.

Track Listing
1. Awakening   5. Transformation
2. River Rose   6. Last Night
3. Wave   7. Sirens
4. Farewell   8. Lamentation
  9. To The Lake