Rich, Buddy / Time Out
Album: Time Out   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Rich, Buddy   Added:Nov 2007
Label:Lightyear Entertainment  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-12-09 Pull Date: 2008-02-10 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 13 Jan 6 Dec 23 Dec 16
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 19, 2016: Rebop
Goodbye Yesterday
4. Feb 08, 2008: The Rent Party
2. Mar 14, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum
Bouncin' With Bud
5. Feb 01, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum
Funk City-Ola
3. Dec 31, 2010: The Songsmith Show
Funk City-Ola
6. Jan 31, 2008: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Goodbye Yesterday

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-12-03
Rich was one of the most famous jazz drummers of the 20th century. Not for him subtle backing percussion to set a gentle rhythm. Here he slashes and smashes his way through some solid, sharp, straight-up jazz recorded live in the 70s. No long drum solos, really….he gives the spotlight to his top-notch band. Superb arrangements too. My only complaint is that sometimes the soloists seem to be too far from the mic, but don’t let that put you off. Play any track – this is on fuego!

1. Up/midtempo jam with killer horns. The sax, especially, wails.
2. Way hip retro 60s spy jazz chase. Uptempo, sassy, brassy. Cool!
3. Upbeat Bud Powell swing w/sweet piano/sax solos.
4. Fast horn tangle from the start, a crazy big band tour-de-force.
5. Relaxed, downtempo and more than a hint of blues w/great solos.
6. Mid/upbeat, sophisticated urban hardbop groove.
7. Tight, uptempo swing w/bright brass solos & a joyful sound.
8. Funky upbeat jazz w/a sweeping, very 70s sound.
9. Relaxed midtempo buzz w/great sax squawks.
10. Wicked fast tumble where everyone gets a chance to shine.
11. Solid, brassy “Chicago” w/Rich leading the jam.

Track Listing
1. Goodbye Yesterday   6. Party Time
2. Machine   7. Joy Spring
3. Bouncin' With Bud   8. Funk City-Ola
4. Readymix   9. Loose
5. Senator Sam   10. Time Out
  11. Chicago