Arks / International, The
Album: International, The   Collection:General
Artist:Arks   Added:Aug 2007
Label:Highwheel Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-11-18 Pull Date: 2008-01-20
Week Ending: Jan 13 Jan 6 Dec 16 Nov 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 11, 2008: Rorschach's Dance
Cars On Fire
3. Dec 13, 2007: Living Souls
Safe And Sound
2. Jan 02, 2008: Eran Mukamel (sub)
4. Nov 19, 2007: I <3 Life and Yr Callous Neglect/Refusal
Cars On Fire

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2007-11-13
Arks - The International
Punkish indie rock w/ some darkness. Think Les Savy Fav, but less dynamic. Many songs have a dark-misty-forest feel -- erie and spacey. Sometimes vocalist will sing-talk or growl the lyrics to complement this. A more unfortunate trend in the music is a tendency to play the same note and sing the same lyric over and over -- tempting you with hooks every once in a while. I don't mind the note so much as the lyrics. It isn't bad music, some may even find the teasing with hooks rewarding, but the repetitive lyrics easily ruined 1 and 3 for me, which are pretty good songs otherwise and just gets old by the end of the CD. My fav songs were the ones in which the lyrics took a little bit of a back seat to the instruments. Songs w/o vocals aren’t too bad either (14, 7).
Picks: 5, 9, 14

1 - Pretty much one guitar note, one lyric "This is the International"... the chorus guitar is very catchy, but song still gets repetitive even at 1:37
2 - Flip between dark and light. Light sounds like 1. Dark adds a deep, prominent bass, vocals get deeper. This "dark" side will be heard in many songs on the CD.
3 - Nice hook, solid rumbling middle... but repeats "Cars on Fire" over and over and over
4 - Same formula, less repetitive lyrics though. Not bad, but not a standout.
5 - Dark. Vocals take a back seat for the most part, sort of growling the lyrics.
6 - didn't notice... ain't bad... just ain't good either
7 - No vocals. Instrumentation really flows back and forth like a tide.
8 - That deep bass from 2 is going again.
9 - Intro has an alien feel. Louder, more distortion, unorthodox sounds then other songs. Repetition of song title "Silver" really works here.
10 - Not very much darkness here. More straight punky. Not bad.
11 - More of the same. Repetitive guitar. Sing-talk/growling vocals.
12 - The opening has a bit of a Rage against the Machine to it. Repetitive.
13 - A bit faster beat on this one. Another less dark, more punky song.
14 – No vocals. The repetition feels sort of triumphant in this song – like perseverance.
-Kyle Macomber

Track Listing
1. The International   8. Maginot
2. Candor   9. Silver
3. Cars On Fire   10. Rot It Out
4. Maritime Snakes   11. The Spoils
5. Safe And Sound   12. Stator/Asymptate
6. The People's Monument   13. Tumult!
7. Customs   14. Sudden Freeze/Ice Shelf/The Thaw