Arora, Kush / From Brooklyn To Sf
Album: From Brooklyn To Sf   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Arora, Kush   Added:Aug 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-08-05 Pull Date: 2007-10-07 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Sep 30 Sep 16 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 11, 2016: EVerything A to Z week 49
Boss Strutt Dub Featuring Process Rebel
4. Sep 25, 2007: New World Lost and Found
Finga Featuring Juakali
2. Apr 25, 2009: New World Disorder
Mitra De Featuring Gurmeet
5. Sep 15, 2007: New World Disorder
Surya Dub Featuring Maneesh The Twister & Gurmeet
3. Oct 07, 2007: Transmission Overload
Mitra De Featuring Gurmeet
6. Sep 13, 2007: Disorder in the Afternoon
Everyday Featuring Juakali

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-08-06
Kush Arora – From Brooklyn to SF
Reviewed by Sadie O., 8/3/07
Bay Area dub/Bhangra/breakbeat DJ with many guests. Significant Bhangra component, lots of Dub, Hip Hop… Fairly cutting edge stylistic mashup. These guys play monthly in SF these days (summer 07) and we do ticket gives, so there’s a strong local connection.
FCCs – lots and lots on tracks 4 and 11 – avoid!
I like 13 best, but the instrumentals (9 and 14) are very nice, and 2, 5, 6 and 9 are cool, too.
1. 0:47 dramatic sounds and spoken word intro, long fade.
2. 4:55 ***mellow acoustic guitar, electronic surf sounds, downtempo dub skank with forceful rap.
3. 5:10 **flute and repeated “Zulu”, then electronic sounds, midtempo dancehall. Forceful rap, cool chorus.
4. 3:34 multiple FCCs – fuckin, assholes. **midtempo bhangra/reggae mashup, very bouncy, gruff rap, and other guy with a potty mouth… Pity, it’s a cool riddim.
5. 3:51 ***long intro, midtempo bhangra riddim.
6. 4:10 ***very slow dub instrumental with guitars and lots of electronics, very pretty bits.
7. 3:58 **slow random noises, bits of vocals intro, then rather fragmented riddim, menacing sounding rap.
8. 4:52 *electronics, then another slow dancehall skank, rhythmic rap.
9. 4:46 ***random intro, then pretty and bloopy downtempo instrumental skank. Bits of Indian chanting.
10. 3:58 **uptempo Bhangra beat and rap, strange syncopation, cool rap.
11. 4:25 constant FCCs – muthafuckin, etc. downtempo electronic hip hop.
12. 4:02 **downtempo electronic dancehall, ghetto reality rap, interesting elecronic noises.
13. 3:49 ****midtempo dubby Bhangra, Punjabi vocals
14. 4:05 ***processed vocals and electronic burps, then pretty midtempo dub instrumental skank with ethereal noises and electronics.

Track Listing
1. Intro   8. Get Wet Featuring Juakali
2. Seed Haffi Grow Featuring Juakali   9. Surya Dub Featuring Maneesh The Twister & Gurmeet
3. Spread The Word Featuring Zulu   10. Finga Featuring Juakali
4. Music A Mi Cultcha Featuring N4sa & Blacksmith   11. Open Shop Featuring Blacksmith
5. Everyday Featuring Juakali   12. Dem Boys Featuring Juakali
6. Surf's Up Featuring Luke Argilla   13. Mitra De Featuring Gurmeet
7. The Ambassadors Featuring Zulu   14. Boss Strutt Dub Featuring Process Rebel