Mexican Institute Of Sound / Pinata
Album: Pinata   Collection:General
Artist:Mexican Institute Of Sound   Added:Aug 2007
Label:Nacional Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-08-05 Pull Date: 2007-10-07 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Oct 7 Sep 30 Sep 16 Sep 9 Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12
Airplays: 1 3 3 2 4 4 5 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 10, 2023: The Modern World
El Micrófono
4. Dec 24, 2013: Pumping Iron
Katia, Tania, Paulina Y La Kim
2. Apr 18, 2017: Magnetized Toner (R1)/A-Philiac (Reprise)
La Kebradita (Le Hammond Inferno Mix By Holger)
5. Jul 14, 2011: Alachinada!
Para No Vivir Desesperado
3. Dec 21, 2015: Happy Hour
El Microfono
6. Aug 23, 2010: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
El Microfono

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-08-06
Instituto Mexicano del Sonido – Pinata
Reviewed by Sadie O., 8/2/07
Sound sample collages set to groovy Latin beats. Just give it a listen – this is quite possibly the coolest thing I’ve heard all year! Wild! Apparently pretty much all by a buy named Camilo Lara, whose two-headed love child I am now intent on having.
No FCCs that I could hear (all in Spanish). Tracks 2, 4, 6, 8, 13 are INSANE! The rest are just nuts…
1. 1:02 **creaky door, slow shuffling cumbia, sound effects
2. 3:09 ****midtempo swishy salsa with goofy high vocals, absurdly fun.
3. 3:34 ***relaxed and lounge-y “marimba” groove with hip hop vocals in Spanish.
4. 5:12 ****uptempo, chunky cha-cha groove, female singing. This is just SICK!
5. 3:35 ***WAY funky midtempo groove, self-consciously ubercool vocals.
6. 3:43 ****acoustic bass, slinky partially vocal beat, seductive female vocals.
7. 4:36 ***terribly serious piano and… squeeps intro. Spoken names of famous people, midtempo dance beat starts after a minute. Bits of Low Rider!
8. 3:18 ****groovy frug-a-go-go, swingy vocals – this is too funny! Ends with applause.
9. 5:36 **lovely harp arpeggios, hip hop vocals in Spanish – never heard THIS combination before!
10. 0:55 **funky downtempo hip hop/beatbox/mariachi – ultra groovy, I wish this was MUCH longer!
11. 3:14 **midtempo, truly indescribable sound collage – it’s got a beat and it’s got vocals and it’s got noises. There!
12. 2:56 **downtempo bells and clops and dance beat, rather lush and certainly odd.
13. 4:46 ****Blat! Blat blat blat blat! Oooh, VERY funky midtempo dance something. Remix of track 5, possibly even MORE self-consciously cool.

Track Listing
1. Killer Kumbia   7. A Todos Ellos
2. Escribeme Pronto   8. Hip Hop No Pares
3. El Microfono   9. Katia, Tania, Paulina Y La Kim
4. Para No Vivir Desesperado   10. Belludita
5. La Kebradita   11. Mi Negra A Bailal
6. A Girl Like You   12. La La Meda
  13. La Kebradita (Le Hammond Inferno Mix By Holger)