Various Artists / World Dub Pastry 2
Album: World Dub Pastry 2   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jul 2007
Label:Music for Dreams  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-07-29 Pull Date: 2007-09-30 Charts: Electronic, Reggae/World
Week Ending: Sep 30 Sep 16 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12 Aug 5
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 29, 2007: New World Disorder
4. Aug 25, 2007: New World Disorder
2. Sep 25, 2007: New World Lost and Found
I Hear You Dreaming (Cottonbelly Dub)
5. Aug 22, 2007: Adv Choice vol. 67 "Have You Heard of TTA"
3. Sep 13, 2007: Disorder in the Afternoon
I Hear You Dreaming (Cottonbelly Dub)
6. Aug 18, 2007: New World Disorder
I Hear You Dreaming (Cottonbelly Dub)

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-07-30
[coll]: World Dub Pastry 2
Reviewed by Sadie O., 7/28/07
Dub/Electronica from Music for Dreams (which says much about the feel of the music) – all very trancey-dreamy. It’s referred to as “Balearic Reggae”. Not all of this comp could possibly be called “Reggae” and some is fairly far from my idea of “Dub”, but there’s plenty of crossover, and it’s a good example of where people are taking the genre. Riddims get stronger in the later tracks.
FCCs on track 10. I love track 12, 8 and 9 also good.
1. 8:01 *very quiet intro, tones and crickets for almost a minute, builds gradually with electronic animal noises. Stays quiet and subtle and simple.
2. 5:22 *very light female vocals with odd processing, ethereal electronics. Vaguely Reggae beat sneaks in around halfway through. Relaxed and swingy for last minute, about 7 seconds of silence at end.
3. 6:48 **single chord, then lots of ethereal electronics for first 40 seconds, then rather glitchy but cool midtempo beat. Pretty and subdued female vocals in French. Repetitive and trancey.
4. 5:07 ***random boops intro, bass comes in around 20 secs in, slow Reggae beat around 35 secs, pleasant male vocals in English.
5. 6:42 *muffled male speaking in English, very basic drum machine beat, bits of floating electronics. Spoken line repeated variously, beat and speaking completely fall apart in mid-track.
6. 5:08 ***hi-hat and bits of disjointed speaking. Single note bass and electronic boops and random sounds. Very dubby, as opposed to electronic.
7. 6:51 *electronic woops, faint drum machine heartbeat. Beat fades completely in middle with small bit of sax in distance, then comes back.
8. 7:05 ****nice wiggly little beat, lots of odd noises – dubby and fun. unidentifiable bits of female vocals, lovely bit of Spanish guitar. Extremely long fade.
9. 7:16 ****muffled rasta preaching, then midtempo roots skank. Adds rhythmic elements to become quite complex.
10. 4:12 FCC: “shit” and “motherfucker” ****starts with audience clapping and Jamaican speaking intro. Rock Steady skank, Hip Hop vocals in English.
11. 5:53 ***pretty guitar intro, sort of a mellow ska beat. Bits of vocals in English, a bit cloying, but the riddim is nice. Bits of steel drum. I’d have given it another star if they’d left the vocals off.
12. 5:23 *****video game noises for more than 40 seconds, then midtempo roots bubble, with continuing video game theme. Fun!
13. 5:34 **extremely mellow slow skank, pretty male vocals with harmonies, love song. A bit smooth-jazzy in feel, however the riddim is really nice.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Allez Allez African Queen (Quiet Village Dub)
2. Filur Into The Wasteland (Lulu Rouge Mix)
3. Deadbeat Port Au Prince
4. Djosos Krost Straight Upfront
5. Dj Disse New Dimension
6. Sideshow You've Changed Dub
7. Banzai Republic Madurai
8. Anada Project I Hear You Dreaming (Cottonbelly Dub)
9. Sandoz Straight Forward Rasta
10. Dub Pistols Running From The Thoughts
11. Laid Back Goovin' On A Feeling Dub
12. Bjørn Torske Spelunker
13. Eva Be Featuring Joe Dukie No Memory Of Time