Congos, The / Cock Mouth Kill Cock
Album: Cock Mouth Kill Cock   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Congos, The   Added:Jul 2007
Label:Explorer Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-07-15 Pull Date: 2007-09-16 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Sep 16 Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12 Aug 5 Jul 29 Jul 22
Airplays: 3 2 2 1 1 3 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 03, 2014: World Tour
Watch And Pray
4. Aug 07, 2010: New World Disorder
Chasing Dreams
2. Dec 29, 2011: New World Disorder
Watch And Pray
5. Sep 15, 2007: New World Disorder
Citizen Of The World
3. Jul 16, 2011: New World Disorder
Citizen Of The World
6. Sep 13, 2007: Disorder in the Afternoon
Chasing Dreams

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-07-16
The Congos – Cock Mouth Kill Cock
Reviewed by Sadie O., 7/9/07
Real Roots Reggae from some serious survivors. The Congos were a vocal duo, produced by Lee Scratch Perry, however now they’re basically vocalist Cedric Myton, and with much sparser production. Myton has an incredible falsetto vocal style, and has gotten original harmony vocalists Watty Burnett and Roy Johnson back for this record, making for a distinctive wide harmony lineup. Deep roots and Rasta message.
No FCCs. LOTS of faves – 3, 6, 8, 12-14. Whew!
1. 3:41 **downtempo roots skank, rather minimalist sound, distinctive vocals with a series of Rasta truisms. I have no idea what the title signifies, but I’m pretty sure it’s NOT what you’re thinking!
2. 3:58 ***rather stoned sounding electric guitar intro, then another downtempo minimalist skank, quite skankable. Interesting vocals.
3. 3:22 ****wonderfully odd vocals. Absolutely nutted!
4. 3:26 **very slow Rock Steady (I know it’s contradictory), very sweet music. Chastising lyrics.
5. 3:39 ***more amazing nutted falsetto vocals, Rasta miracle lyrics. Yowzers!
6. 3:52 ****extremely minimalist dubby music, falsetto lead and wide harmonies. Babylon must fall lyrics (can’t disagree with anything here!)
7. 3:31 **more truths and diatribe, some different lead vocals.
8. 3:23 ****a bit more uptempo than other riddims, cool harmonies (not so much falsetto).
9. 3:14 ***midtempo with a bit of bounce, augmented a bit by occasional horns.
10. 3:47 **classic backing riddim, downtempo with a Nyahbinghi feel.
11. 3:34 **midtempo and VERY minimalist, sometimes only drums and Myton’s vocals.
12. 3:25 ****sort of a groovy, lounge-y feel, with farfisa and spoons (?). Some sort of wisdom is being dispensed, but I’m not sure why or to whom.
13. 3:15 ****cool midtempo skank, very nice music, good anti-unjust-war message.
14. 2:47 ****slightly downtempo skank, really cool hummed backing vocals. LONG fade.

Track Listing
1. Cock Mouth   8. Rasta She Want
2. Gods Kingdom   9. Rastafari Is His Name
3. Watch And Pray   10. Heaven Rejoice
4. Grandma Say   11. Out Of The Clouds
5. River Beng Come Down   12. Chasing Dreams
6. Citizen Of The World   13. Throw Down Your Armour
7. Some A Thief   14. Take It To The Max