Clientele, The / God Save The Clientele
Album: God Save The Clientele   Collection:General
Artist:Clientele, The   Added:Jul 2007
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-01-20 Pull Date: 2008-03-23
Week Ending: Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 27
Airplays: 1 2 1 3 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 06, 2022: Everything in Particular
Somebody Changed
4. Jun 15, 2008: Undrinkably Bad Oddities
These Days Nothing But Sunshine
2. Aug 27, 2021: Everything in Particular
From Brighton Beach To Santa Monica
5. May 27, 2008: At Your Local Dive
Here Comes The Phantom
3. Oct 02, 2009: Radiophonic
These Days Nothing But Sunshine
6. Mar 05, 2008: Time Traveler
Here Comes The Phantom

Album Review
Kyle Macomber
Reviewed 2008-01-10
The Clientele - God Save the Clientele
Warm, dreamy, gentle indie-pop. Delicate songs with soft vocals, pleasant string arrangements and a pervading fairy-tale whimsicality. Think of the softest, quietest Wilco songs. Some definite Beatles vibes, too. Some songs have some fun bounce to them, and some others have a flowing tropical feel. Fast beats and electric guitars are hard to come by on this cd. I enjoyed the more bouncy pop tunes like 1 and 12. These are soft, quiet, innocent songs about love, etc. and the warm strings and slow beats reflect this. Expect a lot of "da-da-da-da-dadadadas". Picks: 12, 1, 3, 13

1. A pretty, innocent head bobber. "My heart is playing like a violin."
2. Piano. Harmonizing vocals. Fun "da-da-da-da-dadadas"
3. Sad violin. "Isn't life Strange? You end up alone."
4. More layers. Beings with a quick 5 sec dialogue. Fast unintelligible whispers run on top of instruments for whole song.
5. Sad strings again. About end of summer. "Autumn is calling in the air".
6. Another bouncy song. Vocalists simultaneously singing different lines.
7. Piano. Especially soft vocals.
8. Those whiny tropical strings.
9. Bass and drums give this a bit stronger beat.
10. Female backing vocal adds variety.
11. A bit faster beat. Drum rolls.
12. Another faster beat. Electric guitar! Very bouncy.
13. 1:45. Electric guitar. Reverb. Darker vocals. Fast piano beat with loud electric guitar riffs. Very uncharacteristic of album. Last 10 sec guitar feedback.
14. Prominent acoustic guitar. Slows album to close.
-Kyle Macomber

Track Listing
1. Here Comes The Phantom   8. These Days Nothing But Sunshine
2. I Hope I Know You   9. Somebody Changed
3. Isn't Life Strange?   10. No Dreams Last Night
4. The Dance Of The Hours   11. Carnival On 7th Street
5. From Brighton Beach To Santa Monica   12. Bookshop Casanova
6. Winter On Victoria Street   13. The Garden At Night
7. The Queen Of Seville   14. Dreams Of Leaving