Ware, David S. Quartet / Renunciation
Album: Renunciation   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Ware, David S. Quartet   Added:Jun 2007
Label:Aum Fidelity  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-07-29 Pull Date: 2007-09-30 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Sep 30 Sep 16 Sep 9 Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12 Aug 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 28, 2007: Memory Select
Renunciation Suite II
4. Sep 01, 2007: Late Night Jams
Mikuro's Blues
2. Sep 14, 2007: Baptism of Select Memory
Renunciation Suite II
5. Aug 31, 2007: Baptism of Solitude (extended remix)
Renunciation Suite II
3. Sep 02, 2007: Transmission Overload
Ganesh Sound (Reprise)
6. Aug 26, 2007: Transmission Overload
Renunciation Suite II

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-07-25
Free jazz featuring Ware's high-energy, gnarled sax sound (high skronk factor) and an all-star quartet fronted by Matthew Shipp's piano. Played with power and energy, but not in full blowout mode; it's more like a towering, shadowy sound with a pinpoint sense of control that's sometimes allowed to wander off the needle a little.

David S. Ware -- tenor sax
Matthew Shipp -- piano
William Parker -- bass
Guillermo E. Brown -- drums

1- Spoken introduction
2- Powerful, emotional midtempo. A big, reverent sound.

3- (18:49) Solo sax scrawls alternated with trio interludes, mostly in mid/fast mode in varying moods. Ends with a long drum solo. What's interesting here is the way the Shipp/Parker/Brown trio sets and sticks to a mood -- now, that might have been pre-determined, and it's true the piano takes the lead sonically by default, but still... you can tell these guys have played together a lot.
4- Fast quartet ramble, cool. Gets heavy, skronky, out there.
5- Piano/bass duet, fast but moody. Gets scribbly.

6- Loping midtempo, a dusky, catchy 5/4 bassline. Very cool. Starts with small band blasts. (Nice studio version of this one is on Ware's "Go See the World.")
7- Reprise of 2: Another towering, passionate sermon. Last 3 minutes are applause and PA announcements.
8- Fairly fast and scribbly.

Track Listing
1. Introduction   5. Renunciation Suite III
2. Ganesh Sound   6. Mikuro's Blues
3. Renunciation Suite I   7. Ganesh Sound (Reprise)
4. Renunciation Suite II   8. Saturnian