!!! / Myth Takes
Album: Myth Takes   Collection:General
Artist:!!!   Added:May 2007
Label:Warp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-01-20 Pull Date: 2008-03-23 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Mar 16 Feb 17 Feb 3 Jan 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 05, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
All My Heroes Are Weirdos
4. May 18, 2008: Undrinkably Bad Oddities
All My Heroes Are Weirdos
2. Aug 31, 2010: Nick & Noah - TheRadioShow
All My Heroes Are Weirdos
5. Apr 10, 2008: KZSU Un-American Activities Committee
3. Aug 19, 2008: Streams, Highways, and My Brother's Grill
All My Heroes Are Weirdos
6. Mar 11, 2008: At Your Local Dive
A New Name

Album Review
Kyle Macomber
Reviewed 2008-01-10
!!! - Myth Takes
Funky, high energy dance-rock/disco-punk raveups. Strong drum/techno/bass beats. Male vocals can sound a bit like TV on the Radio at times. A ton of layers to these songs: drums, guitars, bass, electronics... Songs frequently start with one instrument and just keep piling on more and raving up. A couple of the songs have false endings, so they can shed everything but the beat, and then build back up. Very fun, very catchy music. For most part songs before 6 are faster, louder, and IMO better. Song 6 and up are slower and spacier, not bad, but not as much fun. FCC: 3. Picks: 2, 4, 5, 1, 10
1. Whisper vocals. Fun echoing guitar and really active bass.
2. Choppy guitar and drums. Really high energy song. Many layers.
3. FCC a couple "F***"s. Driving beat. Vocal interplay between lead and guy on a walkie-talkie. Many more lyrics than first two songs. Degenerates in last 2 minutes.
4. Slower. Very TV on the Radio - both vocals and song structure. Sick guitar bridges, raves it up - eventually drive song to false ending. Last 30 sec quiet fade out.
5. Drum/techno beat. Distant guitar. Female vocals alternate with lead male. False ending at 4:00. No vocals after false ending. Beat is the same but with ambient guitar layered on.
6. Really catchy guitar riff. Sort of RHCP. This song is slower and softer than others. Much chiller than opening 5 songs -- you're not going to dance to this song.
7. Stadium rock, clapping hands beat. Minimalist compared to rest of cd, much fewer instruments at once. Guitar a bit more prominent on this track.
8. 8:07. Spacey echoing vocals, funky guitars, and other noises. Middle of this song becomes really frantic and builds to a strong climax. Quiet vocals blend in.
9. Horns. Female "nananas". Didn't enjoy this song.
10. Piano. Sort of rap vocals. Emotional. Sad. Very different from rest of songs. Lyrically driven. 10 sec quiet fade out.
-Kyle Macomber

Track Listing
1. Myth Takes   6. Sweet Life
2. All My Heroes Are Weirdos   7. Yadnus
3. Must Be The Moon   8. Bend Over Beethoven
4. A New Name   9. Break In Case Of Anything
5. Heart Of Hearts   10. Infinifold