Doctor Bob / Dark Times
Album: Dark Times   Collection:General
Artist:Doctor Bob   Added:Apr 2007
Label:Edgetone Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-05-20 Pull Date: 2007-07-22 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jul 22 Jul 8 Jun 10 Jun 3 May 27
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 13, 2009: Memory Select, guest Aram Shelton
Dark Times
4. Jul 20, 2007: Memory Select
Dream Scheme
2. Dec 05, 2008: Memory Select
Reform Crossing, Dark Times
5. Jul 18, 2007: Brownian Motion
3. Jul 27, 2007: Memory Select
Dark Times
6. Jul 07, 2007: On The Warpath
Dark Times

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-05-13
Bizarre creepiness: mostly treated lap steel guitar, all slidey or plucky and echoey used as a soundbed for treated spoken vocals, heavily treated. Really weird vocals too. Altogether creepy and fascinating. Most tracks follow similar recipe for the most part, creepy soundbed with creepier vocs layed on top. Rare to hear drums, let alone anything that resembles a “song”. Check it out.

FCC clean.

1) creepy looped “these are the dark times” over spooky slidey tones and treatments
2) plucking tones as soundbed, slow string “rockets”, slides
3) shimmery sound bed, like a bowed saw
4) simple drums, a beat, added to the recipe
5) vocals are more decipherable, good stuff, music is just coloring
6) slow to fade in, more slidey creepiness etc
7) scrapey and strange, no vocals
8) echoey, creepy
9) bowing, etc, no vocs here too
10) more the same, a little percussion thrown in
11) a spastic feel, strange, watch false ending and final spoken phrase

Track Listing
1. Dark Times   6. Sound From The Distance
2. They're Coming   7. Chunk-A-Shred
3. Opera-Ation   8. Dream Scheme
4. Codex #4   9. Abandoned Lighthouse
5. Reform Crossing   10. Stream Of Life Parts 1 & 2
  11. Lost Transmission