Kinkzoid / Book Of Pages, The
Album: Book Of Pages, The   Collection:General
Artist:Kinkzoid   Added:Apr 2007
Label:Mook Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-06-17 Pull Date: 2007-08-19 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jul 15 Jul 1 Jun 24
Airplays: 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 06, 2009: lost and found
Warren Jeffs Explains
4. Jun 30, 2007: Cognitive Overload
The Book Of Pages
2. Jul 12, 2007: Fiction Romance
Warren Jeffs Explains
5. Jun 28, 2007: Emphysema For Emphasis
Warren Jeffs Explains
3. Jul 11, 2007: Brownian Motion
Check Your Mama
6. Jun 22, 2007: Brownian Motion
1001 Voices

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-05-31
Sound collage with treated spoken word, lots of samples and rhythmic composition. The Residents certainly come to mind. Moments of exotica sound collage a la Tipsy and Amon Tobin do too. But most is creepy and chill and relies heavily on echo, loops and effects. Definitely interesting and strange stuff.

FCCs: 9 My picks 1, 4, 11

1) Tipsy/Amon Tobin’esque exotica swingy soundbed to strange spoken word story telling “…sodomized my baby!”
2) interesting “loop” of thought, poetry, with spooky strange soundbed
3) tribal sounding with percussion, strange sound collage
4) gamelan’y feeling in percussion, lots of gospel voiced samples, bursts of sounds, guitars, but mostly chill
5) pensive music, creepy treated voiceover
6) creepy sound collage, a lot of treated voice samples
7) rhythmic, but chill, kinda silly “check your mama”
8) again, a sparse collage, echoey tones, bursts, strange treated voices, The Residents definitely come to mind
9) FCC
10) raga samples, tabla, featured heavily in this creepy collage
11) pensive rhythm, collage stuff, samples of bush stating “major combat operations in iraq are over”

Track Listing
1. Warren Jeffs Explains   6. Son Of El Beato
2. I Was Walking   7. Check Your Mama
3. Slapp   8. The Book Of Pages
4. Half Past Forever   9. They're Burning
5. Too Lazy To Kill   10. Nuns With Guns
  11. 1001 Voices