Wilson, Abram / Ride! Ferris Wheel To The Modern Day Delta
Album: Ride! Ferris Wheel To The Modern Day Delta   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Wilson, Abram   Added:Mar 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-03-11 Pull Date: 2007-05-13 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 15 Apr 1 Mar 18
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 07, 2010: Happy Hour
I Want More For Me Than This
4. Apr 24, 2008: Happy Hour
Gonna Be Alright
2. Nov 26, 2009: Happy Hour
Gonna Be Alright
5. Apr 03, 2008: Happy Hour
I Want More For Me Than This
3. Mar 05, 2009: Happy Hour
Gonna Be Alright
6. May 11, 2007: Memory Select
I Want It All

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-03-11
Good straight jazz in a Mingus mode, with some New Orleans touches (tuba in place of bass sometimes, e.g.), blues harmonica, and occasional rap or scat singing.

The 10-piece band is a combination of the Delta Blues Trio, the Londorleans Brass Band (trad New Orleans band) and Wilson's own sextet.

Concept album telling the story of a trumpeter who abandons his family's jazz-club business to join a hip-hop band, only to find himself trapped with them when his grandfather's illness calls him home.

The music is good, and the dramatics/lyrics/words don't shadow the music, although they sometimes appear suddenly at the end, making for awkward airplay (2,9).

From the liner notes: "At the heart of the story depicted in Ride! is Albert Jenkins, a talented young trumpeter set to take over the running of a jazz nightclub that has been in his family for generations. Everybody is counting on him, but Albert has other plans. Instead, he leaves home and opts to tour with a hip-hop band, The Outsiders. This new life brings excitement, temptation and, ultimately, tragedy in equal measure as Albert finds himself hooked on illegal substances that flow all too freely on the road. Bad news from home serves as a wake-up call but he soon realizes The Outsiders have no intention of allowing him to leave in order to shoulder his pressing family obligations. He is trapped."

(Mostly) Instrumental -- (2),(4), 6,8,9,10,11, 12
Songs -- 1,3, (4), (5), 7

1- Opening monologue and midtempo chant.
2- Easygoing bluesy swing. Big grand intro w/harmonica.
3- Bluesy bucolic harmonica, fast, w/vocals. Upbeat train-station music.
4- Tougher modern sound, midtempo swaying. Gets more chipper during the solos. Vocals near the end.
5- Chugging bop feel, some rap/scat near the end.
6- Stomp with tuba, mid/fast, upbeat
7- Slinky mid/fast
8- Upbeat, popping feel, mid/fast
9- Cool feel, mid/fast; SEGUES into:
10- Upbeat old-fashioned sound w/harmonica and horns. SEGUES into:
11- Fast bebop, jumping.
12- Guitar picking and harmonica, gentle and mid/fast, an upbeat New Orleans feel.

Track Listing
1. I Want More For Me Than This   7. Gonna Be Alright
2. The Albert Jenkins Story   8. Why You Guys Laughin'?
3. Life Ain't So Bad   9. You Already Home
4. I Want It All   10. Blow To The Head, Part 1
5. Looking To The Outside   11. Blow To The Head, Part 2
6. Confrontation And Acceptance   12. After The Storm