Lake/Tchicai/Osgood/Westergaard / Lake/Tchicai/Osgood/Westergaard
Album: Lake/Tchicai/Osgood/Westergaard   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Lake/Tchicai/Osgood/Westergaard   Added:Feb 2007
Label:Passin' Thru Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-04-15 Pull Date: 2007-06-17 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 17 Jun 3 May 27 May 20 Apr 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 15, 2007: Memory Select -- Jeff Arnal interview
Smiling Billy Higgins
4. May 15, 2007: a sound escape
Turku Boogie
2. Jun 01, 2007: Rorschach's Dance
5. Apr 20, 2007: Memory Select
Turku Boogie
3. May 25, 2007: Memory Select -- Moe! Staiano interview
Valley Sketch

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-04-20
Quartet of accessible jazz with some wildness in the sax solos by Lake (of the World Saxophone Quartet) and Tchicai, both of them getting a bit outside the lines without departing from the tradition. The composing doesn't always grab me, but the soloing spaces are good. Drums have an unusual tendency toward military-march snare, dunno if that's an Albert Ayler influence or just this guy's preference.

1- Mid/fast, warm with march-beat snare. Loosens up for solos.
2- Mid/fast, a kind of plodding swing (but nice)
3- Midtempo
4- Light bop, midtempo, w/some fairly free soloing
5- German talking, faint improv rustles
6- Midtempo, a bit of stern military feel
7- Chant-singing, kind of spiritual. Then a scrabbly sax solo.
8- Light groove, into a mid/fast upbeat feel a la Ayler

Track Listing
1. Azurite   5. Der Er Stilhed I Tingene
2. Valley Sketch   6. Osgood In Asgaard
3. Loop For Susan   7. Spirit
4. Turku Boogie   8. Smiling Billy Higgins