Ojos De Brujo / Techari
Album: Techari   Collection:World
Artist:Ojos De Brujo   Added:Feb 2007
Label:Six Degrees Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-02-25 Pull Date: 2007-04-29 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18 Mar 11 Mar 4
Airplays: 3 1 2 1 2 4 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 30, 2012: Polar Similarities
4. Dec 18, 2009: Spherical Sounds with Yumpop
2. Dec 21, 2011: New World Disorder
5. Dec 17, 2008: The Rent Party
Sultanas De Merkaillo
3. May 29, 2010: New World Disorder
6. May 20, 2008: The Professor Barnaby J. Finkerton Variety Hour -- Music that Appears to be of L

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-02-26
Ojos de Brujo – Techari
Reviewed by Sadie O., 2/18/07
Nuevo Flamenco (and more) from Barcelona. Uniquely famous for combining modern Flamenco with hip hop scratching, they’ve now thrown all sorts of other musical forms into the mix – most notably East Indian vocal beats and hand drums. Track one also features Funk, track 10 has a Reggae beat, track 4 features rapping from Daara J… Much of the sound is rather relaxed and swingy, although a lot of it is pretty uptempo.
No FCCs detected – almost all in Spanish. I like 1 best, although you’ll notice that everything else gets 3 or 4 stars – it’s insanely good.
1. *****uptempo part flamenco vocals, guitar and handclaps, part scratch ‘n’ glitch, part Blaxploitation soundtrack funk. Amazing!
2. ***midtempo and relaxed, but with complex rhythms, lots of female vocals. Definitely more flamenco than other influences. Wonderful guitar.
3. ****tabla and vocal beats, then downtempo, rather atmospheric groove with lots of vocals and fretless bass. Then there’s a beat that somehow manages to be both Bhangra and Reggae. Wow!
4. ***mellow and pretty midtempo flamenco. Some stunning guitar work. Also some male dancehall vocals in English, as well as whatever language it is that Daara J rap in (one of them guests).
5. ***Starts with something metal rolling around briefly, then intense whispered vocals and midtempo flamenco. Lots of glitch.
6. ***acoustic guitar, very traditional folk sounding number. Some very traditional flamenco singing in second half.
7. ***midtempo and a bit relaxed, lovely vocal harmonies. Mostly flamenco, but witih some odd electronics.
8. ****solo vocals intro, then uptempo flamenco with vocal harmonies. Some jazzy piano.
9. ****complex hand drums and vocal beats, uptempo but sweet with moments of jazz horns
10. ****somewhat downtempo Reggae beat, very relaxed and spare instrumentation, swingy. Ends a few seconds shy.
11. ***East Indian vocal beats and tabla intro, uptempo, fat sound. Some East Indian instrumentation and jazz piano.
12. ****totally modernized flamenco, midtempo, with bits of scratching – totally unique sound.
13. ***metal hammer and acoustic guitar intro, adds layers of flamenco and scratching, rather downtempo, swingy groove.
14. ****pretty Flamenco guitar intro for over a minute, then downtempo and very slinky beat with bit of tabla, amazing combination of sounds. Alas, this is a bonus track sort of thing – song only lasts 3:50. Last 1:10 of track is East Indian vocal beat and handclaps (which is a lot of fun, actually) – in between is 4 minutes of silence.

Track Listing
1. Color   8. No Somos Maquinas
2. Sultanas De Merkaillo   9. Bailaores
3. Todo Tiende   10. Corre Lola Corre
4. Runali   11. Feedback
5. El Confort No Reconforta   12. Piedras Vs. Tanques
6. Tanquillos Marineros   13. Respira
7. Silencio   14. Nana