Land Of Ill Earthquakes / Land Of Ill Earthquakes
Album: Land Of Ill Earthquakes   Collection:General
Artist:Land Of Ill Earthquakes   Added:Feb 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-08-05 Pull Date: 2007-10-07
Week Ending: Sep 16 Sep 9 Sep 2 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12
Airplays: 2 1 2 3 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 13, 2007: The Girls Are At Your Local Dive! (with Joanna S)
Long Winter
4. Aug 29, 2007: Where the Girls Are
I've Been A Villain
2. Sep 11, 2007: Time Traveler
Acres Of Fakers
5. Aug 28, 2007: Time Traveler
Acres Of Fakers
3. Sep 05, 2007: Where the Girls Are
I've Been A Villain
6. Aug 23, 2007: Emphysema For Emphasis
Long Winter

Album Review
Natalie Ruiz Tofano
Reviewed 2007-08-05
Lo-fi retro twee-pop cuteness! 6-7 person band from LA, recently signed to pop label Elefant Records (same as Camera Obscura). This isn’t an official release, just a mix they put together for us. Mixture of twee pop, 50s/60s retro surf, spy, bossanova – complete with trumpets, reallyreally sweet/heartfelt fem vocals, xylophone, keyboard, soft guitars, and a lot of hand-clapping and classic pop drum beats. Think super lo-fi mix of Belle and Sebastian, Aisler’s Set, Camera Obscura, etc. No FCCs Favs – 1-3, 6

1 – midtempo summer sounding (even though title is long winter); complete w/playful xylophone, fuzzy guitar, classic pop drum beat & hand clapping
2 – sweet and heartfelt, retro/lounge sound, mid-low-tempo; starts simple w/sweet vox, keyboard and tambourine, nice mixture of trumpets; great ending w/whole group singing along, uber cute!
3 – low-tempo, mellower and more somber song, vocals are more sultry and sad (but still cute and twee); mixture of jazzy soft drums and sad trumpet
4 – mid-tempo, slightly dancey and head boppy; great mixture of diff fem vox, electro keyboard, and of course hand-clapping and classic pop drum beats
5 – surf, 50’s dance pop feel; fem vocals and backups are fun w/lots of “oooh ahhhhs”; breaks into fun but slightly messy instrumental section of guitars, trumpet and percussion
6 – another retro surf pop song, but slower w/deeper and more serious vocals; electro keyboards sound great - echo-ey and eerie; and more xylophone!
7 – faster tempo than other songs; fast tempo in beginning, then cuts to slow guitar section and interruption of a messup and someone saying “sorry”, and cuts back; song feels incomplete, trumpet sounds off tune in beginning

Track Listing
1. Long Winter   4. Don't Pose For The Picture
2. Judy   5. Amy's Song
3. Acres Of Fakers   6. I've Been A Villain
  7. Bomb, Drop On Me