Zapruder, Michael's Rain Of Frogs / New Ways Of Letting Go
Album: New Ways Of Letting Go   Collection:General
Artist:Zapruder, Michael's Rain Of Frogs   Added:Feb 2007
Label:Howells Transmitter  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-03-11 Pull Date: 2007-05-13
Week Ending: May 13 May 6 Apr 29 Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 14, 2009: I once was Canadian
Butterfield's And Baker's
4. Apr 25, 2007: I once was Canadian
The Institute Is Burning
2. May 09, 2007: I once was canadian
Red Violins
5. Apr 18, 2007: I once was canadian
Red Violins
3. Apr 30, 2007: Something about music
On The Arm Of A Burning City
6. Apr 13, 2007: Something about music
The Institute Is Burning

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-03-10
LOCAL indie singer-songwriter, on the softer side of things. All sorts of instrumentation (upright bass, drums, keyboards, guitars, horns are more common), but songs are piano or guitar based. Has all-stars from the Bay Area indie scene on it (people from the Decemberists, Camper Van Beethoven, Ray’s Vast Basement...)
Nice songwriting and instrumentation all around. Recorded in part by our own Bawd of Euphony! As the Bawd would say, Play play play!
-Adrian FCC: clean
My picks: 1, 3, 5, 6, 9
1. med-slow. piano-based with strings, bass. nice melody and song.
2. med-slow. in 6/8, with a lilt. interesting chord progression. guitar-based with electric piano and brass on top.
3. med-slow, sort of a momentarily hangs repeatedly in its rhythmic cycle. nice english horn part
4. medium tempo. sort of a hypnotic loop of drums, guitars, vocals.
5. upbeat, medium tempo. starts with strings. nice production—strings, brass, reversed sounds all work well together.
6. light guitar with nice vocal+harmony lines
7. mid tempo.
8. med-fast. guitars and piano lead the way. interesting synth sounds.
9. electric piano leads this med-slow song. nice vocal melody. ends with noise/ experimentation.
10. dramatic piano beginning. comes back to a good 3/4 groove.
11. med-slow. guitars, slide guitar. cello.

Track Listing
1. The Alchemist   6. On The Arm Of A Burning City
2. Haymaker Market   7. Jet Black Birds
3. Butterfield's And Baker's   8. Elm Yellows
4. Shepherd's Purse   9. The Institute Is Burning
5. Red Violins   10. Far Rockaway
  11. Phainopepia