Burrell, Dave / Momentum
Album: Momentum   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Burrell, Dave   Added:Jan 2007
Label:High Two Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-28 Pull Date: 2007-04-01 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Mar 25 Mar 11 Feb 18 Feb 11 Feb 4
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 23, 2007: It's Arbitrary
4. Feb 13, 2007: Jena and Gomorrah
Fade To Black
2. Mar 09, 2007: Memory Select
5. Feb 09, 2007: Memory Select (Baseball Rainout)
Cool Reception
3. Mar 09, 2007: No Cover, No Minimum
Cool Reception
6. Feb 09, 2007: No Cover, No Minimum
4:30 To Atlanta

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-01-23
'60s pianist Burrell leads his trio through traditional jazz forms loaded with outside ideas. Great place to start if you're combing the A-file for "regular" jazz (5,7), but don't be afraid of the more adventurous tracks, which don't stray that far from the mark (1,6). Burrell confidently punches out the notes; it's a hard touch, like Dave Brubeck often uses, but spiced with the adventure of a different era.

1- Pulsing beat, gets weird but stays catchy. Lots of drums!
2- A creeping feel, mid/fast but sly. Gets into pulsing crashes.
3- Sad melodrama, not that slow but definitely a downer
4- Swing feel but slightly "wrong," gets into a cool drum solo backed by ominous chords, then a nice piano solo.
5- Slowish noir feel. A straight, accessible track w/cool sound
6- Sparkly post-bop in a loose, free space. Starts pretty, gets into some low-note pounding
7- Relaxing dinner jazz, an upbeat stroll (titled "Coup d'Etat!").

Track Listing
1. Downfall   4. 4:30 To Atlanta
2. Broken Promise   5. Cool Reception
3. Fade To Black   6. Momentum
  7. Coup D'etat