Pinhas, Richard / Metatron
Album: Metatron   Collection:General
Artist:Pinhas, Richard   Added:Dec 2006
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-02-25 Pull Date: 2007-04-29
Week Ending: Mar 25 Mar 4
Airplays: 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 25, 2021: Brownian Motion (rebroadcast from Jul 24, 2019)
Tikkun (Part 2): Tikkune Zohar
4. Mar 11, 2015: minimum entropy
Tikkun (Part 1): The Unification Of The Name
2. Jul 24, 2019: Brownian Motion
Tikkun (Part 2): Tikkune Zohar
5. Sep 26, 2013: Proselytizing Catharsis
Babylon Babies, Metatron(Ic) Rock
3. Mar 18, 2015: Brownian Entropy
6. Jan 10, 2013: minimum entropy
Tikkun (Part 2): Tikkune Zohar

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-02-21
Founder of influential 70’s prog-electronic rock band Heldon. Trippy psychedelic jams cerebrally along the lines of Acid Mothers Temple but instead of using stoney stoner rock as a foundation this uses quality prog-jazz’isms, Frippertronics, Tangerine Dream style synths. Heavy tape looping/layering a la Robert Fripp-Evening Star in the trippy songs that often mix in prog-rock, epic synths and upbeat tones. Very Eno/Roxie, 801, or Weather Report on qualuudes and acid. Fans of Godspeed YBE, Windy and Carl, Aphex Twin (and especially Robert Fripp) take special note. Fans of Stereolab and all electronic rock, give thanks.

FCC clean. My picks, CD1: 2, 4 CD2: 1, 5

1) 6
min intro of looping guitars, bells, building upon itself in a very Frippertronics’ish manner until drums appear and begin accompanying in a subdued free-jazz style, giving this more of a songlike feel, long (14 min) and psychedelic
2) similar to previous intro but with spoken word sample, more of a free-jazz cohesiveness (pardon the contradiction)
3) upbeat prog-rock feel
4) shimmering layers as intro, veeery Eno, quickly kicks into a jam with interesting/different percussion
5) 5 minute intro is Frippertronics shimmering ambient space, almost a blatant rip-off, then the drums appear and it becomes a little less so, another space jam, but still…

1) looping guitars, Tangerine Dream synths, builds interestingly (no drums/prog)
2) 1 min space intro to an epic prog-jazz rock jam, complete with searing guitars, very 801
3) looping guitars build with synths into an epic composed feel
4) jazzy drums as 1 min intro, then searing sustained/flanged guitar with Jan Hammer’ish guitar, very prog, sorta wanky and 70’s
5) Frippy textures give way to an electro beat, understated French speaking/lyrics, cool electro stuff
6) ambient washes of white noise with guitar loops, again, frippy
7) pretty looping dreamy, intensifies after ~8 min with drums, guitar

Track Listing
1. Tikkun (Part 1): The Unification Of The Name   7. The Fabulous Story Of Tigroo And Leloo
2. Aleph Number 1   8. Metatron(Ic) Rock
3. Moumoune And Mietz In The Sky With Diamonds   9. Babylon Babies
4. Shaddai Blues   10. The Ari: Isaac Louria Song
5. Metatron/Shaddai/Chabbatai   11. Double Face Of Metatron
6. Tikkun (Part 2): Tikkune Zohar   12. Tikkun (Part 3): En Penta Eddenai