Ashley, Dwight / Ataxia
Album: Ataxia   Collection:General
Artist:Ashley, Dwight   Added:Dec 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-03-04 Pull Date: 2007-05-06
Week Ending: Apr 22 Mar 11
Airplays: 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 17, 2007: a sound escape
As We Became Complacent
3. Mar 10, 2007: Cincinnati Kid
2. Apr 17, 2007: 3:00 AM till 6:00 AM
Circus Of Sharp Toys

Album Review
David McWade
Reviewed 2007-02-27
Dark, lush, ambient instrumental soundscapes. Dwight Ashley, who has several albums to his credit dating as far back as 1991, has been described as 'post-industrial' meets 'neo-expressionism' which I suppose is accurate enough. Comparisons can be made to Werkbund, mid-late period Edward Ka-spel (in spirit, anyway), Sigillum S, MIMIR, Lisa Gerrard 'Immortal', Lustmord (with less apathy), etc. The artist lived in New Orleans and was halfway through recording this when Katrina struck.

Rec: 3, 8, 12, 14

Track by track isn't entirely necessary, but some highlights:
3 builds up to a moving climax
4 subterranean sound, electronic tape noises, long, changes to string-like, soundtrack-like sound like something out of Mulholland Drive, 'creepy'
6 beautiful, high pitched 'goth-celestial' about 3/4 of the way through, like the first 2 minutes of Clan Of Xymox's 'Stranger'
7 relaxed, Lustmord-ish
8 use of and focus on piano, tintinnabulation, atonal, short
9 soaring, major key, with high-pitched electronic bells, develops into a very forboding piece with railroad and modern classical sounds, chaotic, long, less chaotic denouement
11 more atonal piano, a bit more energy than #8
12 brilliant, dark, dissonant neo-ambient, Werkbund would be proud
14 piano piece, this time carries a tune, very pretty but produced muffled, MIMIR-like

Track Listing
1. Impervious   7. Our Dark Shallow Spoil
2. When The Waters Came   8. Holiday From Complexity
3. Back Swamp, Bright Sun   9. Withdrawl Of The Many
4. Circus Of Sharp Toys   10. Isle Of Inevitability
5. Dance Of The Wobbler   11. Days Into Years
6. As We Became Complacent   12. Ataxia