Victor, Fay Ensemble / Cartwheels Through The Cosmos
Album: Cartwheels Through The Cosmos   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Victor, Fay Ensemble   Added:Dec 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-05-20 Pull Date: 2007-07-22 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 22 Jul 15 Jul 8 Jun 24 Jun 10 May 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 20, 2007: Memory Select
Leap Of Faith
4. Jun 20, 2007: Where the Girls Are
Exchange Rate
2. Jul 12, 2007: Memory Select, Late-Nite Edition
Exchange Rate
5. Jun 08, 2007: Memory Select
Leap Of Faith
3. Jul 07, 2007: It's Arbitrary
Leap Of Faith
6. May 25, 2007: Memory Select -- Moe! Staiano interview

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-05-18
Female vocals with a sound I associate with the '60s -- hippyesque floating-with-the-universe stuff with a trace of soul. Fay Victor has an airy voice with a nice bit of rawness to it. She's backed by a guitar-led trio that mixes jazz, abstract improv, and psych rock. Close to '60s pop: 1,3,7,8. Way out there: 2,5,6.
FCC clean.

Anders Nilsson (guitar), Ken Filiano (bass), Michael "TA" Thompson (drums). Songs written by Fay Victor and Jochem van Dijk.

1- Springy mid/fast, very '60s/70s jazz-pop feel. Pleasant and even a bit aggressive. Rockish guitar solo.
2- Psychedelic swirl, softly tense and rolling.
3- Poppy jazz guitar, lyrics apparently about the end of the world
4- Hard rock/jazz/soul, floaty stuff with hard jazz drums, tough bass, crazed guitar solo. Drums intro
5- Abstract improv bass, wandering lyrics. Subdued, strange.
6- Mid/fast, a big crazy swirl with avant wordless vocals alongside surreal, simply rhyming lyrics. Kind of a freakout.
7- Softly lyrical, a spare midtempo jazzy one
8- Minor-key pop feel with swinging jazzish rhythm

Track Listing
1. Leap Of Faith   5. Pillow On My Ear
2. Exchange Rate   6. Along The Winding Way
3. It's Coming   7. Stray Dogs
4. Spin   8. Earth