Long Winters, The / Putting The Days To Bed
Album: Putting The Days To Bed   Collection:General
Artist:Long Winters, The   Added:Nov 2006
Label:Barsuk Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-11-19 Pull Date: 2007-01-21
Week Ending: Jan 21 Jan 14 Jan 7 Dec 31 Dec 17 Dec 3 Nov 26
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 16, 2009: Mittens & Scarves
Fire Island, Ak
4. Jan 15, 2008: I once was canadian
2. Aug 30, 2009: Transmission Overload
5. May 25, 2007: Something about music
3. Apr 01, 2008: I once was Canadian
Fire Island, Ak, Pushover
6. Apr 30, 2007: Something about music
Ultimatum, Pushover

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-04-04
Seattle-based indie pop group with literary lyrics. This band makes no attempts to shy away from making accessible music, bu the lyrics have a certain amount of depth you wouldn’t find (much) on commercial radio. Comparable to a number of straight-forward indie pop rockers like Death Cab (Chris Walla from DCFC has produced and is often associated with this band).
-Adrian FCC: clean
My picks: 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 11 (absolute favorites 2, 11)

1. med-fast up-tempo. Somewhat jaunty rhythm.
2. med-fast up-tempo. great song with strong drums and guitar. great sing-a-long chorus.
3. voice and brass at the beginning. Goes into a mid-tempo rocker with horns along with the standard rock instruments
4. laid back mid-tempo number with slightly more energetic choruses
5. medium tempo. dark sounding verses with crunchy drums; a bright and sunny chorus.
6. med-slow. constant acoustic guitar. glockenspiel, drums, electric piano, bass, banjo, slide guitar, and brass in a wall of sound.
7. starts with an upbeat mid-tempo folksy acoustic guitar part. nice nylon-string guitar and banjo parts. drums come in later.
8. fast rocker. guitar and drums for a bit before the full band comes in. nice melodic lead guitar part.
9. More rocking of the same song off of the Ultimatum EP. Mid-tempo rocker with guitars, keyboards, drums.
10. riff-heavy rocker, alternating between a drawn back and a full sound.
11. medium tempo laidback acoustic guitar song. great chorus (even though I don’t know what it means)

Track Listing
1. Pushover   6. Honest
2. Fire Island, Ak   7. Clouds
3. Teaspoon   8. Rich Wife
4. Hindsight   9. Ultimatum
5. Sky Is Open   10. (It's A) Departure
  11. Seven