Lamb, Andrew / New Orleans Suite
Album: New Orleans Suite   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Lamb, Andrew   Added:Oct 2006
Label:Engine Studios  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-07 Pull Date: 2007-03-11 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Mar 11 Feb 4 Jan 28 Jan 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 09, 2007: Memory Select
Katrina's Path [conclusion], Katrina's Path
3. Jan 26, 2007: Memory Select
Rescue Me
2. Feb 02, 2007: Memory Select
Dyes And Lyes
4. Jan 12, 2007: Memory Select
Dyes And Lyes

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-01-02
Brisk free jazz, a sax-bass-drums trio playing in a '60s tradition. Another album inspired by Hurricane Katrina, with plenty of ire for the government (track 1). Most of the music radiates energy and spirit; tracks 4 and 5 get meditative and could be considered a bit darker. Really nice stuff. FCC clean.

1- Pleasant springtime melody, with some spoken words: "Mother Nature just staged a terrorist attack on our ass, and ... not a muslim was blamed." Gets into sparse fast jamming.
2- Mid/fast with high energy, especially in the drums that lead it off with a controlled flurry. Measured sax keeps things in check.
Calmer second half.
3- Fast flowing, with fleet bass intro
4- Free-form exploration, lots of wind-chime percussion, a slow pace that picks up later as the clarinet kicks in
5- A mystical procession. Starts slow, building into a midtempo jam with hyper jangly percussion and some squeaky sax.
6- Happy, bucolic harmonica and whistling, kind of a calm after the storm. Some cool bass/drum duetting.

Track Listing
1. Dyes And Lyes   4. Back Water
2. Katrina's Path   5. Song Of The Miracle Lives
3. Rescue Me   6. Aftermath Healing