Dagons, The / Reverse
Album: Reverse   Collection:General
Artist:Dagons, The   Added:Oct 2006
Label:Blow the Fuse  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-10-22 Pull Date: 2006-12-24
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 12 Nov 5 Oct 29
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 24, 2009: Emphysema for Jesus
It Flies Out
4. Jul 12, 2007: Fiction Romance
The Fifth One
2. Jan 30, 2009: The Pants Down Oval Office
Not Enough
5. Jan 18, 2007: Fiction Romance
How To Get Through The Glass
3. Aug 23, 2007: Fiction Romance
Not Enough
6. Jan 07, 2007: Hangtime
It Flies Out

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-10-26
Female vocal fronted noise pop, urgent, melodic, pensive, low-fi in all the right places. For fans of Magneta Lane, Helium, Rogers Sisters, Charles Brown Superstar, Yo La Tengo, Devics. Most songs brief, radio friendly. Great stuff, some of which delves into a psyche flare a la Gris Gris. Also check out their previous release a few years back.

1) epic, melodic vocal line
2) more urgent, driving feel
3) jangly 60’s Indian psyche flare, slowly phrased
4) surf back beat to the drums, slow phrasing and simple guitars really work well
5) trippy sci-fi synth, effects laden near experimental digression 6) low fi acoustic guitar/tambourine and vocs, psychey trippy in the realm of the Gris Gris
7) plod rock beat, reverb on vocs is psychey
8) driving simple rock, title track, its worthy
9) 2/4 upbeat near cow-punk feel, strange vocs effect
10) rockin poundin instrumental, feels like an intro without a song
11) pretty waltzy feel, melodic, feels like an old standard, pub song, like Anne Magnusun/Bongwater

Track Listing
1. It Flies Out   6. Helium
2. Not Enough   7. The Fifth One
3. In Gingham   8. Reverse
4. How To Get Through The Glass   9. Plachettes Half-Apes
5. Scylla   10. Panic In The Sanke House
  11. Dinafore