Pollard, Robert / Normal Happiness
Album: Normal Happiness   Collection:General
Artist:Pollard, Robert   Added:Oct 2006
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-03-11 Pull Date: 2007-05-13
Week Ending: May 13 Apr 22 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 05, 2011: Daydream Disaster
Full Sun (Dig The Slowness)
4. Apr 20, 2007: Something about music
Accidental Texas Who
2. May 11, 2007: Something about music
Supernatural Car Lover
5. Apr 07, 2007: Biff Bang Pow
Accidental Texas Who
3. May 09, 2007: I once was canadian
Supernatural Car Lover
6. Mar 30, 2007: college radio
Full Sun (Dig The Slowness), Get A Facefull

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-03-05
More great power pop/rock from the former Guided by Voices leader, of course. Maybe a bit more simple, wistful, than the preceding "From a Compound Eye" CD. More of an autumnal air.

Scrappy pop tunes with unconventional chordal twists. Often proggy in the sense of acoustic-strumming Yes (that is, pastoral and folky; no odd time signatures). Basic guitar parts with weird backing keyboards and other sounds from mad scientist/producer Todd Tobias, and Pollard's usual stream-of-consciousness lyrics. Some critics didn't like this one, but I say it's all worth spinning.

1- Straight strong pop, a bit Who-like. Bright.
2- Strident intro, into straight power-pop
3- Breezy fast pop
4- Fairly fast. A light wistful feel
5- Midtempo, quite lo-fi on the vocal. A bit sad.
6- Upbeat mid/fast, quite pretty despite the title
7- *FCC* "piss." Mid/fast rock, a chugging drive.
8- Gentle, acoustic
9- Dissonant pop. Spare and quirky.
10- Chugging mid/fast
11- A big sound, midtempo and grand. Abrupt ending.
12- *FCC* Mid/fast, like breezy power pop. Gets loud.
13- Simple, spare. Slowish waltzy chorus
14- Mid/fast, a bit wistful
15- Jazzy - whoa! Light airy feel. A bit melancholy. No, it's NOT about the band, The Eagles.
16- Chiming proggy chord. Fast and lightly poppy, pretty. Proggy synths during the fade-out, what a great way to end the album.

Track Listing
1. Accidental Texas Who   9. Gasoline Ragtime
2. Whispering Whip   10. Rhoda Rhoda
3. Supernatural Car Lover   11. Give Up The Grape
4. Boxing About   12. Pegasus Glue Factory
5. Serious Bird Woman (You Turn Me On)   13. Top Of My Game
6. Get A Facefull   14. Tomorrow Will Not Be Another Day
7. Towers And Landslides   15. Join The Eagle
8. I Feel Gone Again   16. Full Sun (Dig The Slowness)