Fakoly, Tiken Jah / Coup De Gueule
Album: Coup De Gueule   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Fakoly, Tiken Jah   Added:Sep 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-10-01 Pull Date: 2006-12-03 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 19 Nov 5 Oct 29 Oct 22 Oct 15 Oct 8
Airplays: 1 3 1 2 1 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 30, 2012: No Longer at Ease
Plus Rien Ne M'etonne
4. Jan 21, 2008: Happy Hour
Quitte Le Pouvoir
2. Apr 02, 2012: Afro Beats
Deme, Plus Rien Ne M'etonne
5. Mar 27, 2007: Happy Hour
Quitte Le Pouvoir
3. Aug 10, 2009: Happy Hour
Quitte Le Pouvoir
6. Nov 28, 2006: New World Disorder
Plus Rien Ne M'etonne

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2006-09-27
Fakoly, Tiken Jah – Coup de Gueule (Barclay)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 9/26/06
Hard-hitting and beautiful reggae from the Ivory Coast/Mali. Fakoly is a huge star in France and Europe as well as Africa, and must be well-liked in Jamaica as well – besides Sly and Robbie, the record also features Mickey Chung, Tyrone Downie, and Sticky, who are among the best musicians on the island. The music is excellent roots rock reggae with a horn section and big, full sound. Lyrics in French and an unidentified African language, apparently highly political.
FCC unlikely – nothing is in English. It’s all EXCELLENT.
1. ***midtempo bubble, political lament/diatribe. Great song.
2. ***slightly uptempo with chorus, guest rap by Senegalese hip hop star Didier Awadi.
3. **Starts with plucked acoustic instrument of some sort, then slightly downtempo pretty skank, almost lover’s rock, sweet chorus. Could be a lullaby. More African flavor than previous tracks, guest vocals by Griotte singer Saramba Kouyaye.
4. **downtempo skank about our big American Uncle…
5. ***uptempo Soukouss hip-wiggler with female chorus.
6. **Midtempo bubble, male chorus
7. **midtempo skank, femle chorus, very pretty
8. ***midtempo skank, chorus does much of the singing, horn section shines.
9. ***downtempo skank with lots of great noises, rich sound.
10. **midtempo bubble, female chorus.
11. ***Starts with hand drums, uptempo African-flavored bounce.
12. ***gorgeous midtempo bubble, female chorus.

Track Listing
1. Plus Rien Ne M'etonne   7. Kuma
2. Quitte Le Pouvoir   8. Ou Veux-Tu Que J'aille
3. Alou Maye   9. L'afrique Doit Du Fric
4. Tonton D'america   10. Sauver
5. Deme   11. Imadjigui
6. Ca Va Faire Mal   12. Allah