Melford, Myra/Be Bread / Image Of Your Body, The
Album: Image Of Your Body, The   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Melford, Myra/Be Bread   Added:Sep 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-10-01 Pull Date: 2006-12-03 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 5 Oct 29 Oct 22 Oct 15 Oct 8
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 23, 2018: Traditions
Equal Grace
4. Mar 20, 2009: Memory Select
Be Bread
2. Jan 29, 2016: Rebop
Equal Grace
5. Nov 07, 2008: Memory Select
Fear Slips Behind
3. Nov 06, 2015: Rebop
To The Roof, Fear Slips Behind
6. Feb 02, 2007: Memory Select
Fear Slips Behind

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-09-30
Piano-led modern jazz. Some bright crisp pieces (3,5) but also some lovely, ambitious tracks like grand, stretching landscapes (4,9).

Melford adds some new voices to her previous band, including Cuong Vu on trumpet and Brandon Ross on electric guitar. A few tracks use harmonium (similar to accordion) instead of piano, for a more swirling atmosphere. (1,6,7,8)

1- Catchy bass groove, ethereal floaty trumpet. Then a mid/fast subtle groove with nice soloing.
2- Sparkling and pretty, with bristly guitar solo. Gentle, classical feel at first.
3- Mid/fast. Complex jazz lines. Fierce trumpet later on.
4- Lovely and swirling, like an ocean storm. Gathers intensity, especially after the guitar comes in.
5- Mid/fast, strong lines and some cool electric bass. Fast, chaotic piano solo.
6- Soft spoken word over a forest of ethnic guitars
7- Perky "World" feel, with a fairly fast harmonium solo. Active and popping.
8- Darkly rock-like, swirling, with tough guitar. SEGUES into:
9- Slowly unfolding landscape, wistful and grand, steadily gets darker under tumbling drums and drone-y trumpet
10- Slowish, gentle blip (46 secs.)

Track Listing
1. Equal Grace   6. The Image Of Your Body
2. Luck Shifts   7. Be Bread
3. Fear Slips Behind   8. If You've Not Been Fed
4. To The Roof   9. Your Face Arrives In The Redbud Trees
5. Yellow Are Crowds Of Flowers, 2   10. Made It Out