Magnolia Electric Co. / Fading Trails
Album: Fading Trails   Collection:General
Artist:Magnolia Electric Co.   Added:Sep 2006
Label:Secretly Canadian  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-28 Pull Date: 2007-04-01
Week Ending: Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18 Mar 11 Mar 4 Feb 25 Feb 11 Feb 4
Airplays: 2 3 2 1 2 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 19, 2015: The Sunset Life
Talk To Me Devil, Again
4. Oct 15, 2013: Indie Afternoon
Don't Fade On Me
2. Aug 16, 2014: Trail Mix
Don't Fade On Me
5. Mar 19, 2013: A Tribute To Jason Molina
The Old Horizon
3. Jan 07, 2014: late night dryer
Talk To Me Devil, Again
6. Mar 30, 2007: Time Traveler
Talk To Me Devil, Again

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-04-01
Dark/ dirty country rock from Jason Molina (Songs:Ohia) et al. Songs: Ohia became Magnolia Electric Co. when they released an album called that. This one covers the same southern influenced, Neil Young-influenced truck stop rock that MECo’s been doing, but it also stretches back to the sparser, more fragile sound that Songs: Ohia covered on albums like Didn’t it Rain. The most salient characteristic of any track is the distinctive warble of Molina’s voice. I like the sparser songs generally; good stuff.
My picks: full band: 1, 7 sparse: 4, 5, 8, 9 FCC: Clean
1. med-slow. plodding rhythm. Molina’s warbling vocals over a building set of instruments
2. short (1:48). Mid-tempo country rocker.
3. mid-tempo electric piano and guitar driven number with a bit of honky tonk piano
4. sparse guitar, light drums and Molina’s warbling voice. Stylistically more like older S:O material
5. slow, sparse piano. dark, dark song.
6. mid-tempo, full band.
7. med-fast. full band. Prominent organ, like a mid-60s Dylan song except with a warbling instead of mumbling vocal line.
8. acoustic guitar and voice. Like something off of S:O’s Didn’t it Rain
lo-fi sounding recording (background hiss). Single guitar and vocals. another sparse and beautiful song.

Track Listing
1. Don't Fade On Me   5. The Old Horizon
2. Montgomery   6. Memphis Moon
3. Lonesome Valley   7. Talk To Me Devil, Again
4. A Little At A Time   8. Spanish Moon Fall And Rise
  9. Steady Now