Various Artists / X-Rated: The Dark Files
Album: X-Rated: The Dark Files   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Sep 2006
Label:Steamin' Soundworks  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-10-22 Pull Date: 2006-12-24 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Dec 24 Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 19 Nov 12 Nov 5 Oct 29
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 3 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 04, 2018: The Offbeat Generation
Coppice Meat
4. Aug 01, 2009: lost and found
I Don't Need That Deviant Sex
2. Jul 11, 2016: Life Aquatic
Coppice Meat
5. Dec 18, 2006: chapter 56.0: it's no longer a secret to anybody
Coppice Meat
3. Jun 19, 2010: Bloodstains Across Atherton-Vegan Meat Thread
Nach Pfingsten
6. Nov 30, 2006: chapter 54.0: trip over [sub]
Mouldering The Forlorn I

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-10-24
V/A X-RATED: The DARK Files CD (Streamin’ Soundworks)
A collection of dark ambient electronics and industrial music, some with goth leanings. This is a dedication CD to JHONN BALANCE of COIL who passed away not too long ago.
1. Patient ambient “tribal” sounding track with processed female vocals.
**2. Electronic piano sounds mixed with electronics. No beats.
**3. A COIL track from a limited CDR. Very ambient electronic drone with a spoken word story/poem. Reminds me a little of CURRENT 93.
**4. A great tribute to the man and band, late 80s/early 90s sounding electronics with vocals samples about “deviant sex”. Could almost fit on the “Horse Rotorvator” release.
**5. NURSE WITH WOUND contribute something more akin to noise but still quiet and patient with static sounds and electronics. The 2nd half the track has some slowed down vocals. Has a horror movie feel.
6. Lush keyboards and harsher beats. Later organ type sounds with less harsh beats.
**7. Quiet minimal sounds to begin. Vague monk-like vocals and an extremely dark industrial sound. By the end of the track it sounds like we are inside a factory.
8. Very quiet for the first minute and a half. Eventually a lush electronic sound is mixed with some scary mostly indecipherable vocals.
9. Old electronic sounds from the mid 80s mixed with vocals mostly saying a word or two at a time.
10. The other main member of COIL and JHONN’S partner doing a more upbeat sounding electronic track. No beats and lots of disembodied vocals.
11. Buzzing ambience with something that sounds like a guitar.
Very good tribute -mph

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Scanner Slateblue, Dark Seafed
2. Black Sun Productions Ode To Tzi
3. Coil Coppice Meat
4. Aural Rage I Don't Need That Deviant Sex
5. Nurse With Wound Die, Flip Or Go To India
6. Markant Nach Pfingsten
7. Raison D'tre Mouldering The Forlorn I
8. Legendary Pink Dots, The A Japanese Manual For A Crooked Wheel
9. Monoton Ich Weiss Nichts
10. Threshold Houseboys Choir Under The Direction Of Peter Christopherson, The So Young It Knows No Maturing
11. Kah Stokers Siding