Hubbard, Nathan / Compositions 1998-2005
Album: Compositions 1998-2005   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Hubbard, Nathan   Added:Aug 2006
Label:Circumvention Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-10-15 Pull Date: 2006-12-17 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Dec 17 Dec 3 Nov 12 Nov 5 Oct 29 Oct 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 18, 2016: Music Casserole
Discrepancy In Flow 2
4. Dec 15, 2006: Memory Select - guest Amy X. Neuburg
Painting On Glass [excerpt]
2. Aug 20, 2008: Eran Mukamel (classic classical)
Departing Landscapes
5. Dec 01, 2006: Memory Select: Greenlief/Leandre/Nicols
Discrepancy In Flow 2
3. Sep 19, 2007: Day of Difficulty
Song Cycle 1
6. Nov 10, 2006: Memory Select
Structure 2

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-10-13
Arguably modern classical, although most pieces have that improv-jazzy sound. This is a variety of Hubbard compositions for different settings and groups of instruments. A mix of free-jazz creations; electronics and sound experiments (think Manhattan Research Inc.); and sampled speech. Lots of homages to different composers (Cage, Feldman, etc.) FCC clean.

Hubbard's "Skeleton Key Orchestra" is a less serious, more raucous turn featuring lots of group improvs in a large band -- big fun. To hear a more directly jazzy side of Hubbard, check out the band Cosmologic. (Both in our library.)

1- Fast tumbling solo piano madness
2- Collage of voices, electronics, and odd music. Appropriately Cage-ian.
3- Floaty chamber feel, mid/fast
4- Jazzy: Mid/fast clarinet and vibes, then a slow swirling phase
5- Electronic tones and sound effects; think Manhattan Research Inc. Periods of noise and quiet interspersed.
6- ROVA-like sax trio: Clean unison lines and squirrely group soloing
7- Jazzy sax, a friendly first half. Then crazier sounds over an electronics blender. Calm finish.
8- Slow, serious horns

1- Long landscape-like chords, ominous. Ends with soft horns.
2- Trio of saxes. Dissonant long tones, into squirrely interaction. Last few minutes get quiet.
3- Vocal sounds, often goofy/funny. Like performance art. Solo female vocalist, later with vibraphone/piano.
4- Quiet percussion clanging. Mostly pensive.
5- Gorgeous, slow, lush intro with piano; then percussion and vibes. (First 6.5 minutes are a good excerpt.) Then, some group work before a serious piano-led segment.
..... (-16:30) starts an short free-jazzy passage that leads into ceremonial percussion.
..... Last 10 minutes: Formal horns, samples of crowd sounds, electronics. Gets reasonably messy.
6- Slow, soft piece for piano and orchestra.

Track Listing
1. Structure 1   8. Shards Of Memory
2. Discrepancy In Flow 2   9. Departing Landscapes
3. Departing Landscapes   10. Spectrum/Zeitgeist 2
4. In The Year Of The Lion   11. Song Cycle 1
5. Structure 2   12. Resonance
6. A Secret No One Knows 1   13. Painting On Glass
7. For Dph   14. Sundials 2