Fazzini / Sulphur, Glue The Star
Album: Sulphur, Glue The Star   Collection:General
Artist:Fazzini   Added:Aug 2006
Label:Locust Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-06-24 Pull Date: 2007-08-26
Week Ending: Aug 26 Aug 12 Aug 5 Jul 22 Jul 8 Jul 1
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 28, 2010: Lyric Ballads/Spider Rave
4. Aug 02, 2007: Emphysema For Emphasis
2. Aug 23, 2007: Emphysema For Emphasis
5. Jul 20, 2007: Baptism of Solitude
3. Aug 08, 2007: Eran "'Hammerin'' Hank" Mukamel (nice smelling)
Urge (Reprise)
6. Jul 05, 2007: Emphysema For Emphasis

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-06-24
FAZZINI - "Sulphur, Glue the Star" CD (Locust)
Minimalist acoustic guitar with pop leanings and almost spoken vocals. Add to that some spoken word, poems, some fender rhodes, Tibetan bowl, thumb piano, piano strings and even a CARL ORFF quote. There is something about this that is personal and serious yet comedic. It is incredibly recorded so you can hear every detail including inhales and the pick on guitar strings. The extra sounds of things like bubbles and bowls are not only vividly clear but are not noise, they form some sort of sound track.
1. Background spoken word, guitar harmonics, and pop-ish vocals all into simple finger picked guitar and continued pop-ish vocals. Ends quiet.
2. Minimalist acoustic guitar, almost stupid (on purpose?) lyrics.
**3. Short spoken word/poem/story. Great but short.
**4. Bubbles, quiet guitar, lyrics mention FISH! "Sea horses, anemones". Some interspersed random sounds. The last two minutes are just bubble noises until a laugh at the end.
5. Quiet acoustic guitar then picks up the pace but remain simple with vocals that sound sung through an old mic (Dictaphone?). Some woman speaking in what sounds like Japanese.
**6. Sounds like someone telling a story on a phone message. A somewhat odd story. Phone rings in the background.
7. Another acoustic guitar poppy song. Vocals again are a bit distant and or through some effect. The end of the track has what sounds like some sort of toy flute or horn.
8. Short bells/bowl and a poem.
9. Quiet beginning. Enter a strummed guitar, more sung vocals. More normal pop folk.
**10. Sounds like a hybrid of finger picking and using a pick. Just acoustic guitar for the first 3 minutes then a bell/bowl or two shows up and that toy flute or whatever it is. Instrumental.
Good stuff -mph

Track Listing
1. Wooky   6. 06
2. Zone   7. Urge
3. 03   8. 08
4. Duplex   9. Glare
5. Deli   10. Urge (Reprise)